Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System

Old 02-18-2009, 10:27 AM   #1
brokenxxangel
Prospect

Exclamation My macbook won't boot..just a gear wheel and shuts off...need to access hard disk too

I'm running leopard and I just installed an upgrade on my macbook two days ago...and now when I try to get it to boot, it turns on, the grey screen appears, the little gear wheel starts spinning for about 30 seconds, and then it shuts off....ive seen some other topics where people had G5 computers doing this...im a real newbie, so i don't know what the difference between G5 computers and macbooks are so i started a new post...i also saw that people did some diagnostic stuff...what can I do to try and find out what's wrong...I don't have an installer CD or anything for leopard...I do have the files on my external hard drive, but nothing to burn them too...can I boot from a USB??? also, im using my secondary partition on my macbook and im running a stripped down version of windows...i've tried to access my mac partition from my windows partition, but it just says that the hard drive is corrupted or the structure is not supported...is there any way that I can get some files off my mac partition in case I have to wipe it all clean????

I really need help...its been like this for about two days...I can boot Linux systems from a live CD...but I can't access my mac partition through that....

i also booted it in verbose mode, and everything starts working for a while, and it says that everything is fine, and it stops after posting something about something is operational, or works...and after about 30 seconds it flashes "Killing all applications" and then shuts off...if there's anything else that you need to know about my computer, just PM me or post on here...I'll try and find out =S

thanks!
brokenxxangel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2009, 10:36 AM   #2
hayne
Site Admin