Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 23 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-10-2009, 10:14 AM   #1
music55
Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Unix command to map a network share

Hi Everyone,

I was wondering if there is a way to send some kind of unix command to the remote client using ARD for mapping a network drive?

My share is on our mac server and our lab machines are using Tiger and Leopard as as OS. I can connect to share using "Connect to Server" option under Finder.

Also I have tried "Mount" and "Mount_afp" but still unable to mount any of my shares.

Thanks,
music55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 11:11 AM   #2
tlarkin
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 11,352
try using the mount command with the -t option for file system type.

example would be:

Code:
mount -t NFS /path/to/share
It should prompt for user/password at that point. You can replace NFS with AFP, SMB, so on and so forth.
__________________
sudo make me a sammich
tlarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 12:00 PM   #3
music55
Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
I have tried this but it shows me the option and usage page:

mount -t AFP /fil161.mycompany.com/Photo

OR
mount -t AFP //fil161.mycompany.com/Photo

mount -t AFP afp://fil161.mycompany.com/Photo

None of these seems to be working. Any other idea or may be I am typing it wrong.

I really appreciate you help.

Thanks,
music55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 01:03 PM   #4
tlarkin
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 11,352
can you ping this network share? Have you tried by IP and not by DNS name?
__________________
sudo make me a sammich
tlarkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 02:24 PM   #5
music55
Prospect
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 20
Thanks for your help, I have found the solution. I was getting error because I have exclamation mark in my password and by terminal application which did not like that letter so I had to use interactive mode and manually enter username and password.

One more interesting thing that I have found which if you use the following command in the terminal then it will give you error but once you send this using ARD then it works fine:

mount_afp -i "afp:testassword!@fil262@company.com/Photo" /volumes/Photo

Thanks again for your help.
music55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2009, 02:25 PM   #6
ataraxia
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 349
You should name the filesystem type in lower case, and you need to tell it where to mount it (a pre-existing directory):
Code:
mkdir /Volumes/some_name
mount -t afp afp://fil161.mycompany.com/Photo /Volumes/some_name
After you're done, and you umount the share, you should probably rmdir the mount point you created in the first step.
ataraxia is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.