Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 12-03-2008, 06:45 AM   #1
jinjerald

Volume Header needs minor repair

uumm..guys.. i also nid help.. im a super duper newbie in using mac.. coz iv been using windows for almost ,not almost ,but for my whole student life.. now my father gave me dis macbook running mac os x version 10.4.11.. and as i discover things hir n mac, i discovered dis disk utility, and tried to scan or wat u call it , verify disk.. and after dat , i got these reports...
V
V

Verifying volume “Macintosh HD”
Checking HFS Plus volume.
Checking Extents Overflow file.
Checking Catalog file.
Checking multi-linked files.
Checking Catalog hierarchy.
%)
Checking Extended Attributes file.
Checking volume bitmap.
Checking volume information.
The volume Macintosh HD needs to be repaired.

Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit

1 HFS volume checked
Volume needs repair

-----
i nid help T.T and i dont know wats d meaning of these reports. or how badly my laptop would b afected..

-----
and 1 more thing, im trying to install Adobe Creative Suite 3 Web Premium, and after dat long long verifying of the .dmg file, i got dis message saying: input output error, failed to mount disk...
ive search for help n the net, and tried deleting those files(like wat others said)-- like in the caches(folder) the kernel blah blah thing?

------
thanks for all the help!!
im sweating ,hehe, coz i got no brains hir in mac.. pls nid your help badly T.T
thnks a lot!!

--jerald..
thanks again...
Old 12-03-2008, 11:21 AM   #2
trevor

Quote:
and 1 more thing, im trying to install Adobe Creative Suite 3 Web Premium, and after dat long long verifying of the .dmg file, i got dis message saying: input output error, failed to mount disk...
ive search for help n the net, and tried deleting those files(like wat others said)-- like in the caches(folder) the kernel blah blah thing?