Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 06-02-2008, 05:54 PM   #1
kruster
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Question Debug Menu in Disk Utility

Hello
Could anyone (LA included), help me to enable de DUDebugMenu in DiskUtility in Property list Editor. I'm new with his stuff.
I have PLE but don't know were to start.
Thank you
kruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 06:26 PM   #2
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,847
Quote:
Originally Posted by Apple
Disk Utility

If you set the DUDebugMenuEnabled preference to 1, Disk Utility will display a Debug menu with a number of helpful commands.

Source: http://developer.apple.com/technotes/tn2004/tn2124.html

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 06:30 PM   #3
kruster
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
thank you but,

HOW do I set the DUDebugMenuEnabled preference to 1
I'm a newbie
step by step please

kruster
kruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 06:41 PM   #4
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,847
First, quit Disk Utility.

In your Terminal
open ~/Library/Preferences/com.apple.DiskUtility.plist

OR in your Finder, open your Home folder > Library > Preferences > doubleclick on com.apple.DiskUtility.plist

In either case, if you have Property List Editor installed, it should open in that app.

Now, with your Disk Utility prefs file open in Property List Editor, look for a property named exactly DUDebugMenuEnabled. If it doesn't exist, click on the top line, where it says "Root", and click the "New Child" button. It will open up a new Property, type exactly, precisely (and case counts, so get it exactly right):
DUDebugMenuEnabled
Set the Class of DUDebugMenuEnabled to "Number".

Set the Number of DUDebugMenuEnabled to 1.

In Property List Editor, go to the File menu and click Save. Quit Property List Editor. Launch Disk Utility and see if the Debug menu is present.

I'm sure that there's a one-step command in the Terminal that would do all of that too, a defaults write something something something, but I'll leave that for someone else to say.


Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 06:54 PM   #5
kruster
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Thumbs up

THANK YOU!
Debug menu is on
kruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:07 PM   #6
kruster
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 10
Post

Found the problem - not the solution...
- show all partitions -
1 hidden disk.
can't mount
can't disk aid
can't erase...

I have already
repartitionned the ATA disk
secure erase...

How do I remove that unmounted disk
any ideas?

thank you
kruster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:30 PM   #7
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,847
I'm not sure that you need to. Can you show us exactly what you're seeing?

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 07:46 PM   #8
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,526
There's always partitions (quite small) that are created as part of the volume scheme that you have. One example is the partition where the drivers are installed. Those tiny partitions are not for your use.
For example - I have 2 partitions, with 8 hidden partitions, which is completely normal.

What do you need to do with your hard drive - what is your goal?
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2008, 09:42 PM   #9
Las_Vegas
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5,875
On a GUID formatted hard disk (Intel Mac) there is always a 200MB EFI partition. This is required and speeds the boot proceedure as well as aids Boot Camp.

In the case of an Apple Partition Map, at least one partition (31.5K) holds the partition map itself. If System 9 drivers are install, eight additional partitions are used.

Deleting either of the first partitions of GUID or Apple Partition Map drives will render the drive non-bootable.
__________________
Las_Vegas

-- Ts'i mahnu uterna ot twan ot geifur hingts uto.
-- Sometimes I wonder… Why is that Frisbee getting Larger? …and then it hits me.
-- Disposable thumbs make me specialer than most animals…
Las_Vegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2008, 04:06 AM   #10
VirtualTracy
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Oceania
Posts: 395
Very interesting to know ....


.

Last edited by VirtualTracy; 06-03-2008 at 04:12 AM.
VirtualTracy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2010, 12:24 AM   #11
kocoman
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
I have tried this

defaults write com.apple.DiskUtility DUDebugMenuEnabled -bool YES

but it does not work ?
kocoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2012, 04:09 AM   #12
kocoman
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 26
It has to be run under normal user and not root user
kocoman is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:10 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.