Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Hardware and Peripherals



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-24-2007, 12:34 PM   #1
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
GPU diode too hot??

Im looking at istat, and its saying that my gpu diode is at 72 degrees C, This seems pretty high, or is it normal, I was running a game a few minutes ago, but it is a football manager game, so it isnt very graphic intensive. If its too hot what can I use to cool it down?
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 01:13 PM   #2
ThreeDee
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,418
I did a quick google search. The 'normal' temperature depends on the model card. Some people seem to be saying that 72 is OK, while other are saying it's too hot. I don't know anything about GPU 'normal' temperatures.

Make sure there's no dust on the card or it's heatsink/fan.
__________________
15" MacBook Pro (Mid 2010), 2.4 GHz Core i5, 10.6.5, 4GB RAM
PowerMac G4 "Quicksilver", 733 MHz, 10.4.11, 1.5GB RAM

iPod Touch 5G, 32GB, iOS 6.1.3

Last edited by ThreeDee; 12-24-2007 at 01:16 PM.
ThreeDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 01:21 PM   #3
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
how can i, i have an imac, and i dont really want to open it up, looks way too hard
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 01:41 PM   #4
iMovieStar
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 97
Vacuum your intake vents.
iMovieStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:30 PM   #5
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
is that the thing at the back? And wont that damage something (I have a dyson)
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:43 PM   #6
cwtnospam
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,475
Use the brush attachment, and don't stay in one spot. Those Dyson's really, er, vacuum well.
cwtnospam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 02:50 PM   #7
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
umm im not to familiar with my attachments you mean this 1?


And just to make sure I'm meant to hoover the thing behind the silver stand, above the security slot, not the hot bit at the top?

__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal

Last edited by kel101; 12-24-2007 at 04:27 PM.
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:34 PM   #8
iMovieStar
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 97
On the iMac I would assume the intake vents are on the underside of the bottom of the screen.
iMovieStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:40 PM   #9
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
hmm, now i have no idea where to do it, i thought the bottom of the screen was just where the ram was, there is a vent of some sort on the back or should i just do both?
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 04:57 PM   #10
Foibles
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
You can try smcfancontrol to raise the fan speeds. I run mine at 3x stock speed and can barely hear it. About 3000 rpm
__________________
iMac 17" Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz 500GB HD 3GB of RAM
MacBook Pro 15" Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz Tiger 10.4.8
Black iPod Video 30 GB
NAD 304 Stereo Amplifier
Foibles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:30 PM   #11
iMovieStar
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hawaii
Posts: 97
I would suggest trying to clear the intake vents if they are blocked first before anything else. No sense in increasing fan speed if your imac cant suck in more air.
iMovieStar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:33 PM   #12
Foibles
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 119
I recently replaced my HD and at the same time vacuumed out all of the dust that was in there. There was quite a bit that I couldn't get to without taking it apart. It brought the temps down a few degrees.
__________________
iMac 17" Intel Core 2 Duo 2.0 GHz 500GB HD 3GB of RAM
MacBook Pro 15" Intel Core 2 Duo 2.2 GHz Tiger 10.4.8
Black iPod Video 30 GB
NAD 304 Stereo Amplifier
Foibles is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-24-2007, 06:35 PM   #13
cwtnospam
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,475
If you read the manual for replacing the lower fan, you'll see where you should vacuum if it's a 17" iMac. A 20" might be different, but I don't see a manual for the lower fan on that model. The upper fan blows air out through the slot you see in the back, so it wouldn't hurt to vacuum that too.
cwtnospam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 02:37 PM   #14
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
ok, I did that, but i think i need some compressed air to get some more dust out, Its running a few degrees cooler, but still pretty hot
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 02:39 PM   #15
cwtnospam
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,475
As Foibles indicated, it may be necessary to at least remove the back in order to get at some of the areas that might be clogged.
cwtnospam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:51 PM   #16
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
ok.. how do i take the back off?
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 03:58 PM   #17
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
Woah thats looks way too risky http://home.comcast.net/~woojo/DFFA5...sassembly.html
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 04:00 PM   #18
cwtnospam
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,475
It's three screws:
http://manuals.info.apple.com/en/ima..._BackCover.pdf
cwtnospam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 04:02 PM   #19
kel101
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Posts: 1,906
thats a g5, not an intel, the bottom is different, there are other screws apart from the memory ones, but they need some special screw driver
__________________
27" imac 3.4ghz i7
16gb Ram
1TB HD
GTX680 Mx

imac core duo 1.83ghz: OS X 10.6.8,
2gb ram, 1Tb internal

Last edited by kel101; 12-25-2007 at 04:05 PM.
kel101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2007, 04:22 PM   #20
cwtnospam
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 8,475
Sorry! I guess I shouldn't have just looked at the picture.
cwtnospam is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.