Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 02-28-2007, 09:51 AM   #1
parkblvd
Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
Thumbs down Firefox / No Command-W to close window?!?

Hey - I upgraded Firefox, and they've changed the shortcut for Close Window to Command-Shift-W. Command-W now only closes tabs, but WILL NOT close the window!

I can't rewire the shortcut in keyboard prefs in system prefs without closing ALL tabs every time I hit Command-W. Does anyone know which file (plist or otherwise) I have to modify to retain the old behaviour?
parkblvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 11:36 AM   #2
BadgerUMD
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 110
I just upgraded as well, but Command-W still closes both tabs and the window (as does Command-Shift-W). What version of Firefox are you running?
BadgerUMD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 12:51 PM   #3
rksprst
Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 15
I'm using the nightly build and "command w" works fine for me. Try reinstalling firefox and clearing out the firefox folder and the plist.
rksprst is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2007, 06:31 PM   #4
ThreeDee
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 3,418
Are you sure you are running the latest version? 2.0.0.2 does not have this problem. It was 'fixed' in version 2.0.0.1.

Bugzilla Bug 348031
__________________
15" MacBook Pro (Mid 2010), 2.4 GHz Core i5, 10.6.5, 4GB RAM
PowerMac G4 "Quicksilver", 733 MHz, 10.4.11, 1.5GB RAM

iPod Touch 5G, 32GB, iOS 6.1.3
ThreeDee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2007, 01:30 AM   #5
parkblvd
Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 10
I found the problem - if I set it to display tabs at all times, even with just one open, then I can't close the window with command-w. This is true even after a complete reinstallation (I did it twice, and I'm running 2.0.0.2). If I turn this feature off, I can close the window.

Thanks for the replies!
parkblvd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 02:04 AM   #6
beaustre
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1
about:config

browser.tabs.closeWindowWithLastTab

Set this to TRUE

You're welcome!
beaustre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-15-2012, 06:35 PM   #7
acme.mail.order
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 6,328
Hopefully in the 5 years that have passed since the question was first asked they have a) found a solution, possibly by b) upgrading from Firefox 2 to Firefox 11.
acme.mail.order is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:40 PM   #8
Makoto
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 283
Or Firefox 12, you mean.

Heck, I'd just like it if I could redirect the Command-Q command to a different keypress... I'm too used to closing tabs by using Command-W (not that I do it all the time, but still...), and it's too easy to accidentally hit Command-Q and close a browser session with a bunch of tabs I'll never see again

...and one of my extensions uses Ctrl-Q as a shortcut, too. Fun!
__________________
Surviving for years on little sleep and a mere diet of cup ramen and soda...
Makoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 01:50 PM   #9
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makoto
..., and it's too easy to accidentally hit Command-Q and close a browser session with a bunch of tabs I'll never see again

FireFox has that accidental Quit covered, of course...
History menu/"Restore Previous Session"?
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 02:04 PM   #10
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makoto
Heck, I'd just like it if I could redirect the Command-Q command to a different keypress... I'm too used to closing tabs by using Command-W (not that I do it all the time, but still...), and it's too easy to accidentally hit Command-Q and close a browser session with a bunch of tabs I'll never see again

You could try the free Spark application. It's listed as a beta and hasn't been updated in three years, but it still works under Lion. With it, you'd simply set Command-Q to whatever action you'd like and another shortcut for the Quit command (though you could skip this part and simply use the menu item when you want to quit).
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 03:20 PM   #11
Makoto
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 283
DeltaMac: Okay, I was exaggerating a little. But, it's still a pain, especially since Command-Q ignores the Firefox option to warn you when you're closing a window with multiple tabs.

NaOH: Hmm, maybe. I might just try that.
__________________
Surviving for years on little sleep and a mere diet of cup ramen and soda...
Makoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 06:14 PM   #12
acme.mail.order
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 6,328
Quote:
Originally Posted by Makoto
Or Firefox 12, you mean.

Nope - 11. Installing 12 violates the "never install version point zero of anything" rule.
acme.mail.order is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 06:59 PM   #13
Makoto
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 283
But, considering it's probably actually something like v4.12/4.16...
__________________
Surviving for years on little sleep and a mere diet of cup ramen and soda...
Makoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 07:54 PM   #14
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by acme.mail.order
Nope - 11. Installing 12 violates the "never install version point zero of anything" rule.

I don't think you can apply the same rule to FireFox.
Was FF 11 ever updated before 12 was released?
(It's hard to keep track with full updates almost every month. )
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:01 PM   #15
acme.mail.order
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 6,328
Says 12.0 on their website.

The old versions section needs serious help, it's stuck at 3.6.28
acme.mail.order is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:01 PM   #16
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaMac
I don't think you can apply the same rule to FireFox.
Was FF 11 ever updated before 12 was released?

No, they've switched to a full-number release schedule every six weeks. Version 11 went straight to 12, v. 13 is due on June 5, v. 14 on July 17, etc. This page has the tentative schedule for the remainder of the year, with a link at the top to a calendar with the latest information.

This page (which I forgot to link): https://wiki.mozilla.org/RapidRelease/Calendar

Last edited by NaOH; 05-16-2012 at 08:04 PM.
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:11 PM   #17
Makoto
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Posts: 283
Yeah, I certainly don't remember ever seeing an 11.1, and there's no sign of one at ftp://ftp.mozilla.org/pub/firefox/releases/, either.
__________________
Surviving for years on little sleep and a mere diet of cup ramen and soda...
Makoto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:21 PM   #18
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by acme.mail.order
Says 12.0 on their website.

The old versions section needs serious help, it's stuck at 3.6.28

Not "stuck" at version 3.6.28
FF version 3.6.28 was only released in March 2012.
It's the last update that will still run on a PPC Mac, and continued to be updated until March. That version is now done, too...
That's the latest FF that had even a version dot 1

Last edited by DeltaMac; 05-16-2012 at 08:27 PM. Reason: combined two posts...
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 08:39 PM   #19
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeltaMac
[Firefox 3.6.28] is the last update that will still run on a PPC Mac, and continued to be updated until March. That version is now done, too...

There's supposed to be an updated iCab sometime sort of soon (the developer said as much in a recent comment). We'll have to see if that release is the last PPC-compatible browser left standing. Unless I'm forgetting one.
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2012, 09:11 PM   #20
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,501
That's debatable, I think
On PPC, in addition to Safari and FireFox, I also use:
OmniWeb
Roccat
Camino

Each of those 3 have updated fairly recently. I'm not sure if you can say they are really being maintained and updated. All (including iCab) are just not updated very often.
And, with today's challenging internet (flash and java, etc), there's not always confidence that the PPC versions remain safe, as compared to the effort taken on intel versions.
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.