Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-13-2006, 11:07 AM   #1
JCR
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Terminal ls command does not work

Hello,

when I start my Terminal and I type ls -a, I am getting the following error message:
-bash: list: command not found
any idea on how I can get my bash back!

Thanks
JCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 11:15 AM   #2
fenrack
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 127
output of echo $PATH please

and you might wanna check the content of your ~/.profile for weird aliases

Last edited by fenrack; 07-13-2006 at 11:17 AM.
fenrack is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 11:16 AM   #3
JCR
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
echo $PATH returns:
/opt/local/bin:/opt/local/sbin:/usr/local/Trolltech/Qt-4.1.4/bin:$
JCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 11:29 AM   #4
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,762
Ouch. Your path is screwed up. Check your bash configuration files--the path above is very inadequate. If you need help with understanding how to properly set your path, check the excellent Unix 101 here at MacOSXHints, written by hayne, or else Mac OS X Unix Tutorial.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 11:54 AM   #5
JCR
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Thanks for the link; I am going to study it seriously but I need to edit the .profile file I screwed up and nano does not work; how can I get my hand on those files?
Thanks
JCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 12:01 PM   #6
porkchop_d_clown
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Phoenixville, PA
Posts: 127
You can edit your .profile with TextEdit; or you can explicitly type the path to nano:

/usr/bin/nano .profile
__________________
Knock Knock.
porkchop_d_clown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2006, 12:19 PM   #7
JCR
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 19
Thank you very much; I was able to clean up my system and Terminal is back with full functionality; I guess I need to study the link now.
Thanks to all!
JCR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.