Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Networking



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-08-2006, 12:03 AM   #1
drurylane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
I'm having problems connecting my Mac Mini to the Internet using my Ethernet port. The Ethernet cable, cable modem and wireless router work fine -- I connected my PowerBook G4 through the Ethernet port, which was connected to my wireless router and it worked (I switched off AirPort).

Does anyone have any troubleshooting tips? Thanks!
drurylane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 08:57 AM   #2
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
First make sure you have network Prefs > Show Built-in ethernet > TCP/IP tab set to Configure IPv4 via DHCP and that you have IPv6 (near bottom) set Off. If that doesn't help, leave the ethernet connected and restart the Mac.
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 09:23 AM   #3
Raven
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,782
You can also try to create a new location which will have all defautl settings for the built-in ethernet, aka its going to be set to everything gsahli suggests besides the unchecking IPv6.
__________________
Waffled foreheads are a symptom of broken keyboards and inexperienced users
Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 05:11 PM   #4
drurylane
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1
Thanks Raven and gsahli. I tried doing what you suggested and it's still not connecting to the Internet (nor is it detecting anything is plugged in). I think I may have a defective Ethernet card...
drurylane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-08-2006, 10:15 PM   #5
tbsingleton73
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,114
Can you access your router through the web interface page, assuming it has that ability?
i.e. if you have a Linksys router use http://192.1681.1. (DLink http://192.168.0.1).
If you can access these than your ethernet card is working.
If you can't do this can you ping the router with Terminal or Network Utility?
Again if so, than your ethernet is working.
__________________
"When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth." - SH
tbsingleton73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 08:26 AM   #6
deanmcgovern
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Hello, I am having the same problem with my mac mini,
it wont connect to my router, it isnt even recognised by the router, it may be for a minute but then the port number light goes off and there is no connectivity between the router and the mac mini.

I have tried searching for this problem and this is the first one ive seen with the same problem.

I took it to mac specalist and they said my mini was fine, no problem,

i upgraded the firmware on my netgear dg814 router.

there is no problems with my ethernet cable or router as i have PCs connected to it and all works fine.

My mac mini worked beautifully on the router for six months or so then just stoped working all together through the ethernet. Can anyone help me? Thanks
deanmcgovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-11-2006, 10:12 AM   #7
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanmcgovern
there is no problems with my ethernet cable or router as i have PCs connected to it and all works fine

Try swapping the cable used for the Mac Mini with one of the cables used by one of the PCs. Also try plugging the Mini's cable into one of the ports on the router currently used by one of the PCs.

What does it say in the Status section of Network Preferences?

Try restarting the Mini.

Also look for error messages in the logs.
Launch the "Console" application (under /Applications/Utilities) and look for relevant error messages. Note that messages are labeled with the date & time so you can use that to locate the part of the log to look at. Copy & paste the relevant messages back here so we can see them.
__________________
hayne.net/macosx.html
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-01-2006, 05:24 AM   #8
deanmcgovern
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
mini ethernet connectivity

Hi, sorry for the late reply,
i have tried what you have suggested, i also took screenshots but when i put them on my pc they weren't viewable for some reason.

I really cant understand whats wrong, when i plug it in, it sometimes appears on the router for a minute or two or stays on untill some bandwidth is used then cuts off, not even recognised on the router.

All firmware is up to date. the only thing i can think off now is that all i have done is plugged the cable to the ethernet port and to the router with out adding or altering settings on my mac.

do i need certain settings, but as i said before this worked like this fine for the first 6 months of my mac minis life.

I want my mini back to life!
pls help
deanmcgovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 01:54 PM   #9
jry106
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by drurylane
Thanks Raven and gsahli. I tried doing what you suggested and it's still not connecting to the Internet (nor is it detecting anything is plugged in). I think I may have a defective Ethernet card...


I have exactly the same problem with my mac mini - nightmare!!
jry106 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 03:35 PM   #10
Las_Vegas
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 5,875
If the port light on the router is going out, the cable's not making a good connection. Try pushing/wiggling the cable into the connector on either/both the Mini and Router. If the light flickers, you've found the offending outlet.
__________________
Las_Vegas

-- Ts'i mahnu uterna ot twan ot geifur hingts uto.
-- Sometimes I wonder… Why is that Frisbee getting Larger? …and then it hits me.
-- Disposable thumbs make me specialer than most animals…
Las_Vegas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2006, 03:47 PM   #11
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,838
Or, as hayne mentioned, the ethernet cable is bad. Swap out the ethernet cable for a new one.

Cables go bad far more often than you would think.

Trevor
trevor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 08:35 AM   #12
deanmcgovern
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Hello again,

im back again months later still trying to figure out the problem with my mini. i dont know what else to include, i have tried several cables which all work fine with pcs the netgear router works fine with the pcs plugged into it, when they are plugged in the router port number is lit and the internet is active and file sharing if i want to use that. the mini used to work fine, 6months later the light dosent appear on the router, under systerm preferences/network/built in ehternet it has a red light, it is as if it is not connected at all. as i mentioned before i took it to a mac specalist and she said nothing wrong, i have thought of a virus, she said it could be conflict between it and the PCs. basically when i got my mini i already had 2 pcs connected to the router with my ISP settings stored in the router, i got a cable connected it to mini and it worked fine, i didnt apply any settings to mini, just plug and go as i did with PCS. is this causing a problem? if so why not for 6 months wheen new? i tried a software called dave, i thought this might disguise the mac as a pc and help things but this machine wont show on the router, its lying to me, imso frustrated. i have to use my pc fulltime and dont get to use my mini much becasuse of the hassle settings it up :-( i have also updated the firmware on the netgear router and have all the latest updates for my mac, os x 10.3.9, if i bought tiger or waited till leopard came out would that help? im confused, please help me. also i have tried using different ports on router, unhooked PCs but it still wont recognise or be recognised by my netgear DG814 Router which is supposed to support mac platform.

Thanks for reading ad helping


Dean
deanmcgovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 08:48 AM   #13
voldenuit
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 5,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by deanmcgovern
as i mentioned before i took it to a mac specalist and she said nothing wrong, i have thought of a virus, she said it could be conflict between it and the PCs.

You should definitely stop consulting your utterly clueless "specialist" and check with a reputable, Apple-certified repair shop what's wrong with your mini.

Be sure to backup your data before carrying the machine around.

It would definitely be great if you could use it again, having you post from a PC without a working [Enter] key to create, you know, paragraphs, is not a very enjoyable reading experience .
voldenuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 09:34 AM   #14
deanmcgovern
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
well thanks for your help mr smart arse, for your information i am using my mac mini now and used it then for those fantastic paragraphs, also using an apple keyboard and mouse! connecting via external modem The "specialist" i mentioned are the only certified apple engineers in my country, so i hope they know what they are talkng about.

Thanks
deanmcgovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-22-2006, 09:57 AM   #15
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,838
Hi deanmcgovern,

What country are you in?

The problem with the advice given by the mac specialist is that 'it could be a conflict between it and the PCs' is meaningless. It's the sort of thing one says when they have no understanding of how computers work and have nothing else to say. It can't be evaluated for being true or false--it is meaningless.

Do you have the Apple Hardware Test CD, or the Software Restore DVD (which includes the Apple Hardware Test on it) that came with your Mac Mini? I'd advise you to run Apple Hardware Test (if you've got the DVD, read the directions on the face of it to access AHT).

If AHT doesn't find any hardware problems, then I'd advise you to backup your hard drive, then boot to your Install CD or DVD, and do an "Archive and Install", making sure to leave the box checked to preserve your User settings. All your installed applications and your user will be left alone, but an Archive and Install will install a brand new operating system on the Mini. This will show if you have some kind of software problem which is causing you this ethernet issue.

If that is not the problem, then despite all appearances, it seems that you have a hardware issue with your ethernet. In that case, you will need to take it to your nearest Apple Authorized Repair Center (I hope not the one with the specialist that gives meaningless statements, but if that's the only one you may have no choice) and allow them to repair the hardware problem.

Trevor
trevor is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2006, 03:11 PM   #16
deanmcgovern
Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 5
Cool

Hi Trevor,

Thanks for your advice, i already tried reinstalling my software as after the advice i got from the mac people didnt help so i reinstalled my os x software and i ahve ran the apple hardware test many times. as for the people who looked at my computer they were based in Mullusk, Belfast Northern Ireland. Apple themselves told me to go to them as they are the only mac specalists in northern ireland. they may well be other in the south but im not going on a long venture to Cork or else where. I got the feeling that they girl who i spoke to who worked there didnt know her arse from her elbow, i was so angry and frustrated with her and the fact that i had to spend £15 for her to talk crap about computers fighting on the network i wanted to get outa there before i headbutted her. the specalists were all on call but aparently checked it out. my blood is starting to boiul thinking about them, i must write a complaint letter. She also made me feel like a dick when she asked me to explain the problem, looking at me as if i had two heads and i was talking nonsence. Im not so keen on bringing it back to them and i don tknow what to do anymore. I take it the way i have it all set up is correct i just dont know why or how??!? If i reinstall the software will i lose my data? if i bought the new os would that help or fix the problem? i would be so peed if it didnt and i spent the money on it??! my mini is sitting here gathering dust and its no use to me, if i tried to sell it i would just lose money on it. help?
deanmcgovern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.