Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 95 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 06-24-2005, 03:31 PM   #1
Reflect_TRUTH
Major Leaguer

Question Auto Refresh Safari pages?

Is there a way to have a Safari webpage refresh automatically every minute to every couple minutes? I have a page that updates very frequently that I need info from.

Im not really familiar with RSS but does it do something like that? I seriously doubt this site does not have a feed (if thats what it needs).
Reflect_TRUTH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 05:36 PM   #2
giskard22

If RSS is an option, that would be excellent. Safari won't check an RSS feed more often than every 30 minutes, but other RSS readers will let you set pretty much whatever you want.

If RSS isn't an option, you could maybe do this using JavaScript. Keeping in mind I'm not a web coder at all, you could make an html file on your local hard drive with two frames: the first frame just has a JavaScript timer loop that tells the 2nd frame to load a URL every so often.
giskard22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2005, 09:29 PM   #3
Reflect_TRUTH
Major Leaguer

I really have NO clue when it comes to Javascript. I've never had to mess with it before. I dont suppose there is another way to do it???
Old 06-25-2005, 02:16 AM   #4
mark hunte
MVP

Theres a hint here on changing Safari Rss update times

http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...ery=safari+rss

or you could try a Applescript like below saved as a Application Bundle (stay open) ticked.
The time is set for two minutes (120) and you need to change the url.

Code:
on idle

tell application "Safari"
		activate
		set URL of front document to "http://forums.macosxhints.com/search.php?do=getnew"
	end tell

return 120

end idle
mark hunte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2005, 11:15 AM   #5
biovizier
All Star

Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflect_TRUTH