Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-21-2005, 12:04 PM   #1
ajresovsky
Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Posts: 25
WwAaaa! Crash time!!! I want my Safari back...

Blame this on halfwits at Comcast. Lost my internet connection>so tech support, over there instructed me to un-plug my modem and shut down syttem, not knowing I forgot my osX password. So, to make it quick, I re -installed{and put password in safe spot!)
Now, I get IE and internet, but I want Safari. And when I get e-mail,
what do I need o do so after I double click I'll be sent there?
Help,
ajresovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:18 PM   #2
mark hunte
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hello London Calling
Posts: 1,787
open Safari, go to prefs and select Safari as the default web browser.

p.s

Not sure how you can blame comcast for you forgetting your password.???
mark hunte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 12:31 PM   #3
voldenuit
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 5,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hunte
Not sure how you can blame comcast for you forgetting your password.???

Those dumb lusers, unfamiliar with an OS running for months in a row without reboot, didn't sense that slightly scared tone in ajresovsky's voice that should have hinted them he forgot his password because he hadn't needed it for a long time...
I hope you now better understand why the dim-witted crowd at Comcast is entirely responsible for this screwup...

Mark, I thought for quite some time that you tended to write pretty sensible answers, your failure to understand this extremely clear-cut case disappoints me a lot .

And just in case anybody wonders - yes there are less heavy-handed ways to recover a lost password.
voldenuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 01:13 PM   #4
mark hunte
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hello London Calling
Posts: 1,787
Quote:
Mark, I thought for quite some time that you tended to write pretty sensible answers, your failure to understand this extremely clear-cut case disappoints me a lot

Doh.. forgot the 'X' factor.
mark hunte is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:11 PM   #5
ajresovsky
Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Posts: 25
Mark, maybe I need to clarify....

Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hunte
open Safari, go to prefs and select Safari as the default web browser.

p.s

Not sure how you can blame comcast for you forgetting your password.???

open Safari, right... when I open it, sure the Safari 'menu' catagories are
on the top toolbar, but when I double-click on any there's NO responese!!
And,other than the tool-bar no browser window.

Even though not knowing my password was my 'tantamount' error the
doofuses there no **** about macs and osX, I BLAME THEM for not admitting their ignorance. Why didn't they direct to someone who did? Why is this
platform ignored? Sure, the're might be less 'heavy-handed' ways of getting
my access, however, THEY knew of no other way
Anyway, so how can I get Safari open?
Go to the blue Apple?
ajresovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:37 PM   #6
voldenuit
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Old Europe
Posts: 5,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by mark hunte
Doh.. forgot the 'X' factor.

Doh indeed, the plot thickens .
voldenuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 03:39 PM   #7
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajresovsky
open Safari, right... when I open it, sure the Safari 'menu' catagories are
on the top toolbar, but when I double-click on any there's NO responese!!
And,other than the tool-bar no browser window.

I'm not sure I have understood correctly (you need to use more words to explain fully) but it seems that you are saying that you get the Safari menus in the menubar but that there is no Safari window.
You mention double-clicking on the menus. Normally you don't double-click on a menu - you just click once and the menu opens, then you click once on the item in that menu that you want.
Try the File menu in Safari. The first item in the menu should be "New Window". Select that item. Don't you get a window appearing?

In general, you should try the standard troubleshooting suggestions:
http://www.macosxhints.com/article.p...04011205473937
http://forums.osxfaq.com/viewtopic.php?t=7269
http://www.thexlab.com/faqs/faqs.html

In particular, be sure to try logging in as a different user to see if the problem exists there. (Create a new user via the Accounts preference panel if you only have the one user account so far.)
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 05:54 PM   #8
ajresovsky
Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Gratiot, Michigan
Posts: 25
I Have .MAC backup...

Hi,
Think you inadvertantly sugest,what I THINK may be the answer:
I'm a member of '.mac' and I burned a CD backup on Mon. morn
before all the **** went down. How can I load that info on my HD? Will
it, selectivly, add only that which was lost. And, most importantly, what procedure do I follow?

Last edited by ajresovsky; 04-21-2005 at 09:00 PM. Reason: misspell
ajresovsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:02 PM   #9
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,459
Quote:
Originally Posted by ajresovsky
I'm a member of '.mac' and I burned a CD backup on Mon. morn
for all the **** went down. How can I load that info on my HD? Will
it, selectivly, add only that which was lost. And, most importantly, what procedure do I follow?

Just insert the CD and it should appear on your desktop or in your Finder sidebar. It will be like another disk drive. Just drag & drop those files you want from the CD onto the appropriate place in your hard drive.
But I'm not sure what files you are missing.

And you still haven't answered my questions above about what you are doing with Safari. If you want help, you need to supply us with a detailed explanation of what you are doing and what the problems are.
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-21-2005, 09:07 PM   #10
helloworld
Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 21
just a recommendation

I recommend switching to Mozilla Firefox, it's lightyears ahead Safari and it's free.
helloworld is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.