Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 07-07-2004, 11:10 AM   #1
dnzn23
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
Safari won't open Yahoo inbox?

Safari won't open my yahoo mail. Anyone else having this problem?
dnzn23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 11:22 AM   #2
yellow
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10,677
I have not had a problem with Safari and the new Yahoo. I'm guessing that you tried it with other browsers and it worked?
Try logging out of yahoo, clearing your cache, quitting safari, and going back into yahoo.
yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 11:31 AM   #3
dnzn23
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
tried that. no go. It logs into yahoo mail fine. but it just wont actually open my inbox. I tried it in IE and it works fine. Weird. I even tried installing Safari again and that didnt work. I don't think my hot mail account works either...
dnzn23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 11:56 AM   #4
Raven
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,782
What version of Safari are you using ?
__________________
Waffled foreheads are a symptom of broken keyboards and inexperienced users
Raven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:24 PM   #5
dnzn23
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
1.2 I downloaded the latest version from Apple. I forgot to mention that I am also accessing the net through a wireless router. Would that make a difference?
dnzn23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:32 PM   #6
yellow
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10,677
It should not. I think you need to try a quick plan B and log in as another user and verify that you cannot open your Yahoo Inbox there either. I just checked now and I've no troubles with mine.
yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:42 PM   #7
dnzn23
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
I'm able to log in as that user on my PC and on my mac through IE. Just not through Safari.
dnzn23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 02:46 PM   #8
dnzn23
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 19
I updated my firmware on the router and I guess that fixed it. I'm able to get in now. thanks for the help people!
dnzn23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 03:04 PM   #9
yellow
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10,677
That's really weird. Really. I cannot imagine what would stop only some of your HTTP traffic to port 80/443.
yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 04:38 PM   #10
gsparks
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 461
I ran into similar problems a few months back... for whatever reason, Yahoo, eLoan, and a few other sites use a handful of different ports to communicate back, and unless you have them open or know what they're doing, it can frustrate the living **** out of you.
gsparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 04:53 PM   #11
yellow
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 10,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsparks
I ran into similar problems a few months back... for whatever reason, Yahoo, eLoan, and a few other sites use a handful of different ports to communicate back, and unless you have them open or know what they're doing, it can frustrate the living **** out of you.

You should not have to open ports in the firewall to communicate with these sites.
yellow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 05:05 PM   #12
MBHockey
MVP
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: New York
Posts: 2,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow
You should not have to open ports in the firewall to communicate with these sites.

Yeah, that really makes no sense, to me at least.
MBHockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-07-2004, 06:02 PM   #13
gsparks
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 461
The key here is "should not", and not "will not."

:-(

For example, I seem to remember with eLoan there was a problem running the different loan calculators... been a while, though. Once I opened up the firewall, (BAM!) no problem.
gsparks is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.