Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > Working with OS X > Tweaking OS X / Wish List

Old 04-03-2002, 05:57 PM   #1
tonio
Prospect

anti-spyware for os x????

i would certainly hope that there are some spyware detection/removal apps for os x.....are there? are there any for os9?

if not, i would put this on a wish list....

is anyone aware of any?

thanks-

tonio
tonio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 01:12 PM   #2
jacabsmith

Hey,

I am newbie here, I am also looking for a best anti-spyware, actually recently I used 'Adware Alert' anti-spyware, which I bought from www.adwarealert.com and Its rougue, believe me this is really a bad one, useless

well, if you have get any new and good anti-spyware, then please PM me..

Thanks in advance!!
jacabsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 01:50 PM   #3
trevor

Little Snitch: http://www.obdev.at/products/littlesnitch/index.html

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 03:44 PM   #4
wdympcf
MVP

I second the Little Snitch suggestion as long as the following caveat is understood. There is no substitute for discretion. Little Snitch is great for discovering that Adobe CS3 'phones home', but that doesn't mean you should go installing any old piece of back-alley software. Do a little research on the net first and find out what other (independent) parties are saying about the product. I have tried Little Snitch, and I think it is a well developed product, but I ended up deciding not to buy for the following reasons:

1. I am careful with what I install on my computer. I only install software from reputable sources.

2. I am not doing anything on my computer that would get me in trouble if it were discovered (pirating software, downloading adult content, etc). I stay away from the shadier side of the web.

3. I have never noted any suspicious activity on my Macs.
wdympcf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2008, 04:51 PM   #5
Nicanor
Triple-A Player

ClamXav

ClamXav

Quote: