Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-11-2012, 06:49 PM   #1
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
MBP 2007 shuts down after 15 minutes??

running 10.7.3, 3gb RAM, 2.33.

So, I came back from a biz trip and fire her up. About 15 minutes of use and bang. Straight off. Reboot and get to the Apple logo and spinning whatsit, then off again, but it tries to reboot itself. Then loops doing this. I halt this with a hard shutdown during reboot, using the power button. Left it a day, tried again and booted fine...... 15 mins and bang, everything is off in a split second.

Waited a few hours, tried again and fine, so checked the disk, how sever unlikely it is that that is the cause. SMART s fine. Do I need to dig a log out? Which one? If this was a car, I would say it was either the coil, or capacitor failing under heat/load. Clearly it is when the machine has warmed up that this is happening.

Can anyone point me in the right direction please? Prior to going away, all was well.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.

Last edited by GavinBKK; 02-11-2012 at 06:53 PM.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:31 PM   #2
NovaScotian
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 5,154
There are several apps and a few widgets available for revealing internal temperatures. Try one and see if one of your fans has frozen.
__________________
17" MBP, OS X; 27" iMac, both OS X 10.10.x (latest)

Last edited by NovaScotian; 02-11-2012 at 07:43 PM.
NovaScotian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 07:48 PM   #3
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,845
Couple of things. Is the machine running on battery? Is the power cord showing amber or green where it connects to the MacBook Pro? What do Console logs say at the time of shutdown?
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2012, 10:47 PM   #4
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
Installed IStat widget. Temps appear ok, but Memory slot A1 is 57 degs??

On mains at all times.

This run lasted 35 mins. the bang. Off. Log attached.

Thanks chaps.
Attached Files
File Type: log All Messages.log (82.8 KB, 50 views)
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-13-2012, 10:23 PM   #5
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
Tried to run memtest, but the machine shut off before completion.

Ideas anyone?
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:02 AM   #6
Hal Itosis
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by NaOH
What do Console logs say at the time of shutdown?

Quote:
Originally Posted by GavinBKK
This run lasted 35 mins. the bang. Off. Log attached.

After your latest two restarts, this entry eventually appears...

08/02/2012 11:54:01.000 kernel Previous Shutdown Cause: 5
:
:
:
12/02/2012 11:03:51.000 kernel Previous Shutdown Cause: 5

A casual google seems to indicate that may be normal (done from the  menu).


This is weird though...

08/02/2012 12:17:28.309 usbmuxd _AMDeviceConnectByAddressAndPort (thread 0x100781000): IPv4
12/02/2012 11:03:19.000 bootlog BOOT_TIME 1329019399 0
12/02/2012 11:03:32.000 kernel npvhash=4095

^ it looks like logging stopped 4 days prior... and didn't resume until restarted. Was your Mac off during Feb. 9, 10 and 11?


Other than that, there are 93 occurrences of the string 'fail', but i don't see anything specifically "bad" prior to either shutdown. [probably hardware related, my guess]



Oh wait... here it is perhaps:

12/02/2012 11:08:08.000 kernel HFS: Very Low Disk: freeblks: 0, dangerlimit: 47

Your disk is full.
Show us...

df -h

... in Terminal.
__________________

chown -R us /your\ base/

-HI-

.

Last edited by Hal Itosis; 02-14-2012 at 02:14 AM.
Hal Itosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 04:30 AM   #7
tw
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,262
This will sound odd, but see if the problem persists if you remove the battery entirely and run it on the power cord alone. It's not healthy for a laptop battery to run on the cord all the time (at minimum you should run on battery 4-6 hours a month), and if you have a damaged battery it could conceivably cause a power loss. If the problem goes away, buy a new battery.
__________________
Philosophy is a battle against the bewitchment of our intelligence by means of language. -LW-
tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 06:56 AM   #8
anthlover
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,619
Amongst by computers I have a 2007 Macbook that exhibited similar behavior, though it also froze more and more often. The drive never showed a smart failure. One day before junking (and having bought a new Pro late 2010). I decided to use the new drive from the new computer in the old (since it was a little small for my needs).

*** The end result the drive swap turned the computer new again, all the problems went away. And note it I used a clone of my system so it was not as if it was "software/System issue" *****

We could go on about the importance of multiple back ups, but I have to run to work. PS. While it is good to run on batteries here and there, modern Lion batteries have pretty good management software. I suspect though its time for a new battery too, though not part of your issue unless your running on batteries when it happen.

Good Luck
anthlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:28 AM   #9
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
Well that was a new battery a few months ago. The System says it's 90% good and Coconut Battery says it's 78% good???

I'll go the df -h and revert. The system is showing me using 85Gb of 120Gb at this time.

More soon.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 08:00 AM   #10
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
df -h result:

Test sequence 1 of 1:

Running tests on full 1517MB region...
Stuck Address : testing 6 of 16
Code:
Last login: Tue Feb 14 12:00:54 on console
Gavin-Broads-MacBook-Pro-15:~ gavinbroad$ 
Last login: Tue Feb 14 20:54:38 on console
Gavin-Broads-MacBook-Pro-15:~ gavinbroad$ df -h
Filesystem      Size   Used  Avail Capacity  Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2   111Gi   78Gi   32Gi    71%    /
devfs          112Ki  112Ki    0Bi   100%    /dev
map -hosts       0Bi    0Bi    0Bi   100%    /net
map auto_home    0Bi    0Bi    0Bi   100%    /home
/dev/disk2s2    18Gi  4.1Gi   14Gi    23%    /Volumes/gavinbroad
__________________
LoadsaMacs.

Last edited by hayne; 02-14-2012 at 12:56 PM. Reason: added CODE tags
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 09:59 AM   #11
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
Ok, up and running with a TTP eDrive from external on the MBP. Volume rebuild, file optimization and permissions, followed by a (yeah, yeah) defrag. Let's see if this helps...
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 01:55 PM   #12
Hal Itosis
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 3,315
Quote:
Originally Posted by GavinBKK
The system is showing me using 85Gb of 120Gb at this time.

Quote:
Originally Posted by GavinBKK
Code:
 Filesystem      Size   Used  Avail Capacity  Mounted on
/dev/disk0s2   111Gi   78Gi   32Gi    71%    /

Well, that kernel message is unambiguous enough: zero free blocks.

12/02/2012 11:08:08.000 kernel HFS: Very Low Disk: freeblks: 0, dangerlimit: 47

And the word "danger" is not a common term in logs (as opposed to error and fail, which pop up all over the place).


Perhaps some program or runaway process is rapidly overfilling a temp folder somewhere (/tmp/ or /var/folders/*/*/-Tmp-/ or /.TemporaryItems/ or etc., etc.), and that forces the shutdown. Then on restart, all those temp items get cleared away... leaving no clues (save for that singular console message).

You need to monitor the situation in realtime.
__________________

chown -R us /your\ base/

-HI-

.

Last edited by Hal Itosis; 02-14-2012 at 02:01 PM.
Hal Itosis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:07 PM   #13
derekhed
All Star
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Anchorage, AK
Posts: 762
The Very Low Disk message from the kernel might be a red herring. I have the same message in my kernel.log four times in the past four weeks, every time after waking my rig, but not every time I wake my rig.

My boot volume is 58% full with 190 GB free.

It's an odd message though...
__________________
...if only you could see what I've seen with your eyes.
- Batty, Blade Runner

They all float down here...
derekhed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 02:22 PM   #14
tw
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 4,262
well, just as a note, if you decide it's a drive problem, check the cable and reseat the connector before you buy a new drive. bad drives are usually obvious (making odd clicks and buzzes from internal mechanical failures, or showing bizarre results in the Finder or disk utility); a loose connector or bad cable can make the disk randomly disappear from the system's view, which might explain the 'zero free blocks' message.
__________________
Philosophy is a battle against the bewitchment of our intelligence by means of language. -LW-
tw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 07:32 PM   #15
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
Well, I have had TTP running defrag all night and it hs done some sixty thousand out of twenty nine million blocks.

35Gb free space. Seems to be adding up to a dodgy drive, yes?

I actually went ahead and ordered one from OWC Anyway last night, but that will be a while in the post. Age-wise, I can't complain really at five years old.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:33 PM   #16
anthlover
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 3,619
Yup

I'm rather fond of the Segate Hybrid drives.... **Either way hopefully you will get a good working drive, I have occasionally gotten new drives that are flaky too (it happens to all brands).

I have to say I disagree partially about Smart (much less experience then the some here).

*But I have seen drives that pass smart and are whisper quiet and do not work properly anymore when old or even some that are new.

*I have also seen the opposite drives that fail smart, but seem to work fine.

I always replace in either case rather then tempt fate. Backed up or not I rather shell out around $100 bucks then risk data loss or be aggravated... Though at the moment with drive shortages prices are higher then they used to be.

I love OWC/Mac Sales too. Though for bare drives I often go with Amazon or Newegg.

Last edited by anthlover; 02-14-2012 at 10:39 PM.
anthlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2012, 10:42 PM   #17
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,355
Well quite. That was my thinking last night. How much time do I spend buggering about with this drive when it is at/past expected lifespan, when $100 gets me a new drive and a decent night's sleep.

TBH, maybe overkill, but I bought new RAM and Super(!)Drive as well on a just in case basis. Bearing in mind my relative isolation, it is worth me getting the parts in and maybe squeezing a couple more years out of the old girl. Total $260 spend vs new machine? Easy choice.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.