Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Hardware and Peripherals



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-25-2011, 05:06 AM   #1
Paul P
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 115
"Network host is busy" error - connecting printer in 10.6.8 Snow Leopard

Hello, all,

I have an IBM InfoPrint 20, which is an A3 ethernet laser printer. I have used this printer for years, in OS 9, and most flavours of OS X, including Leopard. I always printed with AppleTalk.

I have recently upgraded to Snow Leopard, and I need to switch to TCP/IP because AppleTalk is no longer supported. I have the config page of the printer giving me an Ip address of 192.168.1.8. The computer seems to recognise the printer, but I am unable to print anything out. I always get the same error message :
"Network Host 192.168.1.8 is busy - will retry in 5, 10,15,20,25 secs etc" The seconds go up in increments up to 30 seconds then it just does nothing, no matter how i long I wait.

I have tried many things, including :
zap PRAM
connecting through a modem router,
connecting directly from printer to computer (bypassing the router)
all three different protocols (IPP, LPD and HP JetDirect)
various IP addresses ( all around the 192.168 mark)
different ethernet cables (crossover and normal)
deleting various plist printing files

and probably a couple of other things I can't think of right now, but nothing works.

Setup is : Mac Pro 2.1 running 10.6.8, all updates, 4GB RAM

As always, any help would be very appreciated.

Thank you

Last edited by Paul P; 08-25-2011 at 05:25 AM.
Paul P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 06:14 AM   #2
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,824
I suspect that the problem is with the printer rather than the computer.

The connection seems to be made, but the printer is not responding for some reason.

You may have to look at the printer's configuration options (webpage? or control panel) and check that it has IP printing turned on, and any other relevant options are as they should be.

Might be worth pinging the printer, just to make sure that it is actually on the network.

Hopefully, you should get this problem fixed, as the printer was designed to accommodate Windows and other Unix systems, which don't use AppleTalk. AppleTalk is very slow, so you should find that once you get this fixed, print jobs go through and start printing faster.
benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 07:46 AM   #3
appleman_design
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,550
i usually delete the printer and add it back in the print/fax pref panel..
appleman_design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:51 AM   #4
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
That error message is often an indication that you haven't entered the printer-specific queue name in the Print & Fax Add printer dialog. Queue name is part of the address to the printer (ie, you aren't naming the queue on your computer).
The queue name for the InfoPrint 20 is PASS.

This assumes that you have checked that the IP address of the printer is within the local subnet for your router - otherwise, print requests die at the router.
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 02:59 PM   #5
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
Forgot to mention - queue name is part of the address for lpd protocol, but not HP Jetdirect (because jetdirect uses port number).
IPP is probably too new a protocol for the I-P 20.
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 03:59 PM   #6
Paul P
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 115
Problem solved !!

Thanks to all who replied - I will address your responses individually :

benwiggy :
- IP printing was always turned on
- ping worked fine

appleman design
- thanks for your tip - I did delete the printer and created a new one several times before posting

and a special big thank you to gsahil, whose advice solved the problem - my personal hero !!
- the combination of queue name and LPD protocol did the trick
- router address is 192.168.1.3, printer was 192.168.1.8, so this was never an issue

Thank you once again.

Enjoy your day.
Paul P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 08:34 PM   #7
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
Glad it worked - wish I had one of those!!!
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2011, 10:08 PM   #8
Paul P
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 115
gsahli,

yes, they're pretty good. I picked it up used for about $1200, back in 2003-2004. It had done 15,000 prints from memory.

Thanks again for your help. Big Up !!
Paul P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 03:50 AM   #9
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,824
The need for large network printers to have a specific, named print queue often crops up here, and I never remember it! Grrrr!

(I have an HP 5100, which you can pick up cheaply second hand. They just keep going!)

Last edited by benwiggy; 08-26-2011 at 04:01 AM.
benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 06:21 AM   #10
Paul P
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 115
benwiggy,

thanks for the post.

One thing I didn't ask in my previous posts is how do you find out what queue name to use ? The manuals I have for the InfoPrint 20 make no mention of queue names.

Thanks
Paul P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 07:26 AM   #11
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,824
It should be in the manuals, I would have thought. But here it is:

http://www-01.ibm.com/support/docvie...id=swg21425081
benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2011, 10:30 PM   #12
Paul P
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 115
benwiggy,

thanks for the post and link. I had another look in the manuals, and there's nothing there. As I bought the printer used, it's quite possible that I did not receive the full set of manuals. It was a while ago.

Thanks Again.
Paul P is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.