Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 4 votes, 4.50 average. Display Modes
Old 08-07-2011, 05:46 PM   #1
Alaska Jack
Prospect

Unhappy Help gratefully appreciated! Trying to set up 10.7/10.6/Windows7 triple-boot.

I am not a mac expert, and could REALLY use some help on what seems like a fairly straightforward problem:

(1) Spring 2011-model MacBook Pro (13-inch) running 10.7.

(2) Ran Bootcamp, installed Windows 7 Home Premium on partition #2.

No problems so far. When I started up with the option key, saw the expected three options (10.7, Windows, and the little restore partition that 10.7 creates). Windows ran great. Then...

(3) I wanted to create a relatively small bootable partition running 10.6, for those times when I want to run PowerPC applications. Using Disk Utility, I split off a small part of Partition #1, giving me:

1- Lion
2- Blank (I haven't yet installed Snow Leopard)
3- BOOTCAMP - Windows
(The 10.7 restore partition doesn't show up in Disk Utility)

BUT NOW -- I can't boot into Windows anymore!

* Disk Utility, the Finder and the Startup Disk preference pane all still show the Boot Camp volume, with all the files intact.

* When I boot holding down the option key, all I see are 10.7 and the restore partition.

* When I select "BOOTCAMP - Windows) in the Startup pane and restart, the computer holds for several minutes on a blank gray screen. Then I get a black screen with white DOS-like text that says "No bootable disk -- insert boot disk and press any key."

If it helps, here is the output from diskutil list

----------
/dev/disk0
#: TYPE NAME SIZE IDENTIFIER
0: GUID_partition_scheme *750.2 GB disk0
1: EFI 209.7 MB disk0s1
2: Apple_HFS Mac Daddy 553.5 GB disk0s2
3: Apple_Boot Recovery HD 650.0 MB disk0s3
4: Apple_HFS Snow Leopard 939.5 MB disk0s4
5: Microsoft Basic Data BOOTCAMP 96.3 GB disk0s5
------------

I would be extremely grateful for any help!

- aj