Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-24-2011, 05:59 AM   #1
uzapuca
All Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 607
How to fast copy two External HD?

Hi guys,
I have to transfer all the content of my 1 Tb external HD to another 2Tb external HD. At the moment i am copying them both connected to my iMac through the USB ports. It is taking ages...40 minutes for 70 Gb and still 930 Gb to go...

Is there any way i could copy them faster? By the way, both are formatted as MacOS Plus with register (the default option i guess)

Thanks for any help or ideas.
Sebs
__________________
iMac Intel Core i5, 2,5 GHz, 21", 12 Gb RAM, 500 Gb internal HD, Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9.3 - iPhone 3 GS - iPad 2
uzapuca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 06:43 AM   #2
OSXmanc
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by uzapuca
Hi guys,
I have to transfer all the content of my 1 Tb external HD to another 2Tb external HD. At the moment i am copying them both connected to my iMac through the USB ports. It is taking ages...40 minutes for 70 Gb and still 930 Gb to go...

Is there any way i could copy them faster? By the way, both are formatted as MacOS Plus with register (the default option i guess)

Thanks for any help or ideas.
Sebs

USB 1 or 2 ?

Do all three items have firewire, do you have the cables?
__________________
 iMac 17" 2.0ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 10.6.8. w 3gb memory (White one)
Internal 160gb plus External 500gb x 2 plus External 1,000gb
OSXmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:00 AM   #3
SirDice
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,119
Firewire isn't that much faster then USB2.0. Both have about the same throughput.

It would be faster if you were able to take the drives out of their enclosures and connect them directly to PATA or SATA. But besides that I'm afraid you're just going to have to sit through it.

Last edited by SirDice; 05-24-2011 at 07:02 AM.
SirDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:05 AM   #4
OSXmanc
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDice
Firewire isn't that much faster then USB2.0. Both have about the same throughput.

It was an alternative, not an order of speeds.
__________________
 iMac 17" 2.0ghz Intel Core 2 Duo 10.6.8. w 3gb memory (White one)
Internal 160gb plus External 500gb x 2 plus External 1,000gb
OSXmanc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:06 AM   #5
appleman_design
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 2,550
i second SirDice advice.. will have to wait for it to finish.
appleman_design is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:34 AM   #6
uzapuca
All Star
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Spain
Posts: 607
my external HD are USB 2.0...and not fireware available here.
__________________
iMac Intel Core i5, 2,5 GHz, 21", 12 Gb RAM, 500 Gb internal HD, Mac OS X Mavericks 10.9.3 - iPhone 3 GS - iPad 2
uzapuca is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2011, 07:48 AM   #7
acme.mail.order
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 6,322
Quote:
Originally Posted by SirDice
Firewire isn't that much faster then USB2.0. Both have about the same throughput.

They both have similar book values. In practice, FW400 outperforms USB2.0 in file copies. FW800 leaves it in the dirt wondering what went past it but I really don't care for the connector. Haven't used Thunderbolt yet.

uzapuca: File copies are the slowest way to transfer data, but the most reliable. Block copy is faster as it avoids directory overhead. Carbon Copy Cloner will do block copies in some circumstances.

`dd` will also do block copies, but is in the 'if you have to ask...' category.
acme.mail.order is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-25-2011, 05:40 AM   #8
agentx
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 4,115
Also a block level clone will be quicker than file level copy from finder try and use Carbon Copy Cloner.

Maybe i should read the entire post before repeating acme. !
agentx is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.