Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 12-07-2010, 04:29 AM   #1
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
Resetting passwords in an iBook G4?

We have just had a stolen iBook G4 recovered - quite amazing around here!

Anyway, the "fence" set a new Username and Login password. How can I get back into my, albeit old, machine?

I have tried:

Booting from the original install disk. The machine just pukes it out and boots to the login screen.

Starting the machine in Target Disk Mode, by booting and holding down the T key. Just boots straight to login again.

Booting from USB. Just goes straight to login yet again.

Any pointers appreciated.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:04 AM   #2
SirDice
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,119
I'd wipe the thing and reinstall.

There's no way to tell what else might have changed.
SirDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:13 AM   #3
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
But how?

The machine will not boot from it's own system disks. It looks like an Open Firmware Password has been set. I have no idea how to access the RAM to reset that, although looking that up is my next task.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:18 AM   #4
soho
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 489
Try holding down 'option' with a bootable drive attached or an install disc inserted. Can't understand why it wont boot in to target mode though...silly question but are you sure the keyboard is working?
soho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:23 AM   #5
soho
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 489
haven't read it throughly but here's a link that may help...
http://discussions.apple.com/message...sageID=4462439
soho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:25 AM   #6
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
KB is working - booted with Cmd-S and was able to type at the Root. Booting with Option held down just goes straight through to the login screen???
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 05:58 AM   #7
soho
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 489
Found this...

Force Removal of Password Protection

If you forget your password, or if a user has enabled it on a lab Mac and you need to remove it, follow these steps. First, add or remove DIMMs to change the total amount of RAM in the Macintosh. This modification will remove the block on the keyboard combination for resetting the PRAM and NVRAM.

Note, merely moving RAM to another slot will NOT work. Other documentation incorrectly states that modifying RAM removes password protection, but it actually only enables the keyboard combination for resetting PRAM, which is normally blocked with the command security mode. Resetting the PRAM actually removes the password protection.
soho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 06:05 AM   #8
soho
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 489
Removing the RAM is relatively easy, remove keyboard and a couple of screws. Check here for instructions... http://www.ifixit.com/Browse/iBook_G4 , select your mac from the pictures to see repair guides.
soho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 08:21 AM   #9
agentx
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 4,118
Target disk mode the Macbook (if it has firewire) connect to another Mac wipe and reinstall from DVD.

If Open Firmware "protection" (cough) has been activated then pull a stick of RAM and restart. OF should be deactivated now.

Addition : I would plugin an external keyboard and try key combinations again.
agentx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 09:28 AM   #10
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
Thanks Guys.

Did all of that - nothing doing.

TD does not work.

I did not try restarting after pulling the RAM, just tried a PRAM reset - nothing doing. So, should I pull the RAM and actually go through a full boot process?

Thanks!

Gavin
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 10:58 AM   #11
soho
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Oxford
Posts: 489
When you tried a PRAM reset did you hear it chime twice? Probably not.
According to what I have read you will need to either add or remove RAM making the total different from the last boot. Then the keyboard will be unlocked and allow you to reset the PRAM and hopefully allow target mode.
soho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 11:25 AM   #12
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
No chimes at all.

Yes, I tried that, but it did not work. :-(
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 02:28 PM   #13
mikael
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 37
http://blog.maintain.se/2010/11/brea...-entering.html

Have you tried this:
Donít have a DVD? No sweat, we just need to get a bit more technical! Reboot the computer, then hold Apple+S during boot to enter Single User mode. When you do this, the computer will boot into a terminal mode where it only loads the bare minimum needed to run. It is a great recovery mode and is perfect for what we want to do. When the computer is ready type in the following commands to reset the password:

Quote:
passwd theusernameyouwanttoreset

reboot

What system version is it?
mikael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 07:54 PM   #14
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
Hi mikael.

I have no idea what the username is. Don't forget that, as stated when I started the thread, the machine was stolen and recently recovered and we have no idea what username has been set up on it.

Throwing it off the top of a tall building is starting to sound good.
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2010, 11:50 PM   #15
mikael
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 37
The username often match the homefolder in User.
Mount the disk in singleusermode and check the userfolder.
cs /Users
ls
mikael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:15 AM   #16
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
That returns:

-sh: cs: command not found

??

Any ideas?
Thanks!
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 01:38 AM   #17
mikael
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 37
Sorry that command should be
cd /Users

What system version is it?
mikael is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2010, 02:03 AM   #18
GavinBKK
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Thailand
Posts: 3,306
Not sure, but probably Tiger.

It may be entirely academic now, as the screen just went green, then blacked out.

Screen failure, or just the backlight?
__________________
LoadsaMacs.
GavinBKK is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.