Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-12-2010, 10:17 PM   #1
pmmp99
Prospect

What to do when Websites REQUIRE Internet Explorer

I just changed today from PC's to Macs and I am very excited. I bought a Mac desktop for the family and MacBook Pro for my business.

I'm a therapist and the first website I tried (one that I really need for my job-to apply for reimbursement from insurance companies) says it doesn't work with non-Microsoft browsers. I tried it with Safari and with Firefox. The website is https://navinet.navimedix.com

So, does this mean that I have to download internet explorer onto my new MacBook Pro???????? What do most of you run?? I know that Internet Explorer is really terrible from a programming standpoint but can I really live without it??

Do most of you run something else and then just open up IE for certain websites?

Please feel free to point me to an existing forum answer--I couldn't find the answer to this question. THANK YOU FOR YOUR HELP!!
pmmp99 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 04:40 AM   #2
soho
Major Leaguer

You could try Internet Explorer 5.2 for Mac, see here: http://mac.softpedia.com/get/Interne...Explorer.shtml
It's the last version of IE Microsoft shipped for Mac and is quite old so may not work with the site in question...worth a try though.
If all else fails you could install Parallels and a virtual Windows machine.
soho is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2010, 05:15 AM   #3
benwiggy
League Commissioner

You should complain to people who run the site that they are not complying with W3C (World Wide Web Consortium) standards. They are obviously using ActiveX, which only Microsoft products can deal with. You should complain in the strongest terms that their decision not to use open standards means that you (and presumably others) cannot access the site.