Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 01-11-2010, 10:56 AM   #1
ahyeng
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
External hard drive being asked to "initialize" suddenly

I'm using Snow Leopard, and with a WD usb external hard drive, last night when I watch movie, the system suddenly ask to initialize the external hard drive, why?

How could I save my data back?
ahyeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 12:19 PM   #2
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,810
Probably the filesystem on the drive is corrupted in some way that causes OS X to no longer recognize it.

Try running Disk Utility > First Aid tab > Repair Disk on this drive. If the drive is formatted as HFS+ (known as "Mac OS Extended" in Disk Utility) then you can use even better tools such as DiskWarrior http://alsoft.com to possibly fix it.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2010, 06:24 PM   #3
ahyeng
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
Quote:
Originally Posted by trevor
Probably the filesystem on the drive is corrupted in some way that causes OS X to no longer recognize it.

Try running Disk Utility > First Aid tab > Repair Disk on this drive. If the drive is formatted as HFS+ (known as "Mac OS Extended" in Disk Utility) then you can use even better tools such as DiskWarrior http://alsoft.com to possibly fix it.

Trevor

can't fix, Disk Utility detect the hard disk has 2.2TB, but actually the hard disk is only 1TB; and
DiskWarrior can't detect the hard disk.
any idea what happen to my hard disk?
ahyeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 12:20 AM   #4
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,810
If DiskWarrior can't detect it, then you probably have it formatted in something that is NOT HFS+ (also known as Mac OS Extended). Since Disk Utility does detect it, and it's not HFS+, that means it's FAT32.

FAT32 is an old decrepit inefficient and delicate filesystem format from Microsoft. Because it is an old filesystem native to DOS and Windows, the best ways to fix it run in DOS and Windows. I'd try running Windows utilities on it to attempt to fix it.

In the future, avoid FAT32 if at all possible.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 03:41 AM   #5
ahyeng
Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 3
I've used the hard disk about 1 year already, the problem just occur yesterday

The problem very strange, I can't initialize the disk, and Disk Utility detect the disk capacity wrongly.

Is the harddisk damage already ?
ahyeng is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2010, 01:20 PM   #6
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,810
Yes, FAT32 works, but is delicate.

We can't say if there is a hardware problem with your hard drive, or just a filesystem issue--the answer to that needs more investigation.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.