Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 8 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 09-15-2009, 05:58 PM   #1
Bob5545
All Star

MacMoney 4.02.11 Issues

I have been using this software since 1989 and have financial files and records dating back to that year. This program was built by Survivor Software to run using Mac OS 9 or Mac Classic under OS 10 on a PPC Mac.

My question is that the new Intel processor Macs do not run classic so what am I to do with all my accounting files. Currently I am using an old Mac to run the program, but someday, sometime that Mac will die.

This program was and still is a very good home accounting application. What are the new Intel Mac programs that do a good job on personal accounting and finance management, and how do I convert these MacMoney data files.

Anyone have any ideas?
Bob5545 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2009, 10:16 PM   #2
chscag
Prospect

Most current OS X money manager programs will accept data input in the QIF format. If your MacMoney program can export in that format you should be able to carry over your all your data to the new program.

I was a MS Money user in Windows for many years. I exported my data to QIF and was able to import into "Checkbook 2" an OS X money manager program. No data lost.

Your mileage may vary though....

Regards.
chscag is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2010, 05:04 AM   #3
Flipp
Prospect

Migrating from MacMoney

Bob5545,

I've been using MacMoney since about 1991, and like you want to move to a current generation product but retain my data. I'd be very interested to hear about your experience. I still have a perfectly serviceable 2nd-generation mirror-door dual G4, but although I have dual-boot tiger/leopard, I hardly ever use leopard as there is no OS9 support. Purely because of this one program.