Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 08-03-2009, 05:16 PM   #1
ecce
Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1
Cisco Packet Tracer 5 on OSX?

I'm curious if it is possible to run Cisco Packet Tracer 5 on OS X? I'm an Academy Instructor, and though Ciscos instructor web page you can download a win32 binary and a Ubuntu 7.10 self-extractor. No source code, but no surprice there - that's not the Cisco way.

I downloaded the Ubuntu .bin file and manage to extract the .deb file, the EULA and an installer. (If you like to check it out, the self extractor puts it contents in /tmp i a folder called self.extractor.XndjlSD or something similar).

I tried this:

sudo dpkg -i ./PacketTracer-5.2-u-i386.deb

The file is not binary compatible with the darwin system. I get this error message:

The architecture (i386) does not match the system architecture (darwin-i386).

Is there any way around this other than emulated win/linux environment or recompiling the source code? Or does anyone have any other tip on getting Packet Tracer 5 (earlier versions are crap) running on a mac?
ecce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-03-2009, 11:35 PM   #2
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,287
There's no way around it.
I'd recommend using "VirtualBox" (free) with a copy of Windows (not free).
__________________
hayne.net/macosx.html
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-04-2009, 08:42 AM   #3
Mailman42
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 479
or virtualbox (free), and ubuntu (free)
Mailman42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2012, 10:27 AM   #4
666threesixes666
Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
well since my cisco instructor is probably going to give me a F, i might as well try to win another over lol....

dont download the deb, thats compiled for ubuntu only. your going to want to snag a more generic version of the packet tracer program.


i get the generic ubuntu tar @

http://cisco.netacad.net/cnams/conte..._Students.html

then open terminal through spotlight

in terminal

first create opt, because this package wont install right if its not installed to opt...

Code:
sudo mkdir /opt
(if you dont have sudo ur fired... run 'passwd' with out the '' marks in terminal, and hit enter for your blank old password, and then type in a new password and remember it or face reformatting in the future)

then

Code:
cd Downloads
tar -xf PacketTracer533_Generic_Ubuntu.tar.gz
cd PacketTracer53/
sh install
then say yes yes yes yes to all the garbage, and NO to symlinking to /usr/local/bin because its probably not in your path. (i dont have a mac, though i just did this procedure for a friend 20 minutes ago on an old old version of a packet tracer tar archive)

Code:
echo $PATH
will tell you if /usr/local/bin is in your path, its not in mine... /usr/bin however is... therefore i have to

Code:
sudo ln -s /opt/pt/packettracer /usr/bin/packettracer
then to run packet tracer it should just be

Code:
packettracer
in terminal &/or (applekey) + space

this does not depend upon dpkg/deb/fink and as such is a generic install from linuxfromscratch/slackware/ubuntu/puppy/fedora/mandriva/openbsd/freebsd (as in its a GENERIC UNIX INSTALL not distribution specific) they should roll out a generic tar not carrying an ubuntu label but i imagine they want to support their products as little as possible
666threesixes666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 05:34 AM   #5
666threesixes666
Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
since i cannot edit original post.... you must have 2 things installed to support packet tracer.

http://www.winehq.org/
&&
http://www.webkit.org/

and i believe your machine comes with webkit if it is osx

to install wine

Code:
tar -xf wine* && cd wine* && ./configure --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install
and webkit should be similar except for replacing all instances of above wine code 'wine' with 'webkit'

Code:
tar -xf wine* && cd wine* && ./configure --prefix=/usr && make && sudo make install
if configure stops in its tracks, either install what ever dependency stops it, or use ./configure --help to figure out what to 'disable'

ensure you use --prefix=/usr as --prefix=/usr/local is default when issuing './configure' alone

Last edited by 666threesixes666; 07-22-2012 at 05:36 AM.
666threesixes666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-22-2012, 12:02 PM   #6
666threesixes666
Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 4
can the admin / mod merge my posts together please...

http://mac.softpedia.com/progDownloa...oad-43729.html

yes sir it is entirely possible to install wine with a mac dmg image.

i got my F from ferris, the cisco teacher is entirely corrupted brags about 50% failure rate, and fails the top of the class for fun.

Last edited by 666threesixes666; 07-22-2012 at 12:06 PM.
666threesixes666 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.