Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Hardware and Peripherals

Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 07-08-2009, 10:58 AM   #1
kidkeeno
Prospect

Question Reformatting Western Digital Passport for Time Machine

Hi All,

I am a new forum member and new mac user of one week. I switched recently from PC and used a Dell Inspiron and now own a 160 gb macbook pro 13. I am currently in the process of transferring and backing up all my files on my new mac. My questions ultimately deal with the compatibility of external hard drives with the Time Machine app on mac.

I am a college student and mobile/club DJ so I have a rather large library of music and video files (~200gb) that needs to be backed up on an external hard drive. Right now, all my files are on a 320 gb Western Digital Passport and nothing else. I just bought a 500gb Seagate FreeAgent external hard drive in order to use Time Machine and back up the WD files so that my music/video could be found in two drives and be updated simultaneously. My problem is that even though my macbook recognizes the WD Passport and I can use/move the files within, Time Machine program does not allow for the WD Passport to be backed up (the "My Passport" icon is seen but grayed out and unable to be selected).

Doing some research, I found that Time Machine will only work with mac formatted external drives; my WD passport is currently MS-DOS (FAT32) formatted, so I can still use it between pc/mac. My questions to you all are:

1. How do I reformat my WD Passport to support Time Machine Back-up without erasing all the files on the drive? If I have to erase the drive, what would the best way to preserve all my files given the hardware I have?

2. If I reformat the WD Passport, I assume it will be no longer compatible with PCs but will I still be able to use it when I run Windows XP on my mac via bootcamp?