Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Hardware and Peripherals



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-22-2009, 09:01 PM   #1
Jarod220
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Power Mac G5 Keeps Saying I need to restart

The only specs I can really give you about my computer is that this is it.

http://www.dvwarehouse.com/PowerMac-...d-p-31523.html

Here's what happened,

I had to turn my computer off directly through the power switch and when I restarted my computer it would get to the loading screen with the apple and spinning disk and would freeze there. I have a copy 10.4 install DVD and booted that through safe mode and everything went fine. After I restarted my computer after I ran the install DVD I keep getting a message saying I need to restart my computer and can go no further. No matter how many times I restart I still get this message.

Please help. This computer crashed on me after two days of having it. I am also not very computer savvy. I know the basics and that's it
Jarod220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 09:25 PM   #2
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,453
You say you have only had this Mac for 2 days. In that case, I'm guessing that you bought this Mac used.

You should always erase the drive and install a fresh copy of OS X from the DVD when you buy a used Mac. You have no idea what the previous owner did with the OS. It could be filled with malware due to maliciousness, or just due to incompetence.

To do this, boot from the Install DVD and choose the option to do an "erase & install". This will erase all files and start fresh.
__________________
hayne.net/macosx.html
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 09:50 PM   #3
Jarod220
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Quote:
Originally Posted by hayne
You say you have only had this Mac for 2 days. In that case, I'm guessing that you bought this Mac used.

You should always erase the drive and install a fresh copy of OS X from the DVD when you buy a used Mac. You have no idea what the previous owner did with the OS. It could be filled with malware due to maliciousness, or just due to incompetence.

To do this, boot from the Install DVD and choose the option to do an "erase & install". This will erase all files and start fresh.

Yes I did buy it refurbished. I got to this message by doing an erase and install. It worked but now I just get a message saying "You need to restart your computer. Hold down the Power button for several seconds or press the Restart button." I just tried running it through safe mode and that allowed me to finish setting up my computer but after restarting in safe mode I still get this message.
Jarod220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:30 PM   #4
Jarod220
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Yes I did buy it refurbished. I got to the message when ran the Install DVD and did an Erase & Install. It all worked but when I restarted i got the message. I can still use safemode and was able to finish setting up my computer through safemode. I still get this message when I try to start normally.. I am a freshman studying in IT and would like to be able to fix this myself rather than sending it in.

This is the message I get

http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_3Gna7UFku-...npw/s320/1.jpg
Jarod220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-22-2009, 10:50 PM   #5
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,453
That multi-language message indicates what is known as a "kernel panic".
It indicates a severe hardware or software problem with your Mac.
Maybe try booting in Safe mode again and then look for a "panic.log" in the folder "/Library/Logs" (the Library folder at the top level of the drive, not the one in your home folder) and show us that.
__________________
hayne.net/macosx.html
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 10:05 AM   #6
Jarod220
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
I found the file. What in the file are you looking for?
Jarod220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 10:10 AM   #7
hayne
Site Admin
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 32,453
Just show us the full contents of the file.
__________________
hayne.net/macosx.html
hayne is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:32 AM   #8
Jarod220
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
The code was to long so I just put the last part of it.

Code:
Fri May 22 21:08:59 2009


Unresolved kernel trap(cpu 1): 0x300 - Data access DAR=0x000000005A62134E PC=0x0000000059636BC4
Latest crash info for cpu 1:
   Exception state (sv=0x59C66500)
      PC=0x59636BC4; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x5A62134E; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x59620F54; R1=0x41373B80; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
      Backtrace:
0x002FFB28 0x59620F54 0x5961E364 0x5963A1EC 0x5961E520 0x002E78D0 
         0x0008C08C 0x000291BC 0x000233A8 0x000ABBAC 0x00000000 
         backtrace terminated - frame not mapped or invalid: 0xBFFFDC90

      Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
         com.apple.GeForce(4.0.0)@0x59617000
            dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(1.6)@0x51541000
            dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(1.4)@0x514dc000
            dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(1.4)@0x51500000
            dependency: com.apple.NVDAResman(4.0.0)@0x5a71e000
Proceeding back via exception chain:
   Exception state (sv=0x59C66500)
      previously dumped as "Latest" state. skipping...
   Exception state (sv=0x596B6780)
      PC=0x9000A758; MSR=0x0000D030; DAR=0x0007D03C; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x9000A69C; R1=0xBFFFDC90; XCP=0x00000030 (0xC00 - System call)

Kernel version:
Darwin Kernel Version 8.0.0: Sat Mar 26 14:15:22 PST 2005; root:xnu-792.obj~1/RELEASE_PPC
panic(cpu 1 caller 0xFFFF0003): 0x300 - Data access
Latest stack backtrace for cpu 1:
      Backtrace:
         0x00095564 0x00095A7C 0x00026838 0x000A8184 0x000AB880 
Proceeding back via exception chain:
   Exception state (sv=0x59C66500)
      PC=0x59636BC4; MSR=0x00009030; DAR=0x5A62134E; DSISR=0x40000000; LR=0x59620F54; R1=0x41373B80; XCP=0x0000000C (0x300 - Data access)
      Backtrace:
0x002FFB28 0x59620F54 0x5961E364 0x5963A1EC 0x5961E520 0x002E78D0 
         0x0008C08C 0x000291BC 0x000233A8 0x000ABBAC 0x00000000 
         backtrace terminated - frame not mapped or invalid: 0xBFFFDC90

      Kernel loadable modules in backtrace (with dependencies):
         com.apple.GeForce(4.0.0)@0x59617000
            dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOPCIFamily(1.6)@0x51541000
            dependency: com.apple.iokit.IOGraphicsFamily(1.4)@0x514dc000
            dependency: com.apple.iokit.IONDRVSupport(1.4)@0x51500000
            dependency: com.apple.NVDAResman(4.0.0)@0x5a71e000
   Exception state (sv=0x596B6780)
Jarod220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:37 AM   #9
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,829
Well, there's a lot more interesting stuff below that. You can put the entire thing into this thread by attaching it to this thread. If you're already in the advanced editing page, click on the paper clip icon, and attach the log file.

But that said, the little snippet that you did show us seems to hint that the problem is related to your nvidia video card in some way. For example, your video card may possibly have a hardware failure.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:44 AM   #10
Jarod220
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 6
Thank you for your help.
Attached Files
File Type: log panic.log (18.5 KB, 89 views)
Jarod220 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2009, 11:50 AM   #11
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,829
Yes, this looks strongly indicative of a hardware failure, especially if you get these messages right after doing a clean install. I suspect that your video card is bad.

You can either return the entire refurbished computer to the place where you bought it (which in my opinion, is the best idea--they didn't really do a good job of 'refurbishing' it if the video card is bad as soon as you get it), or you can buy a new video card and replace the one that you have now.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.