Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > iHardware Devices > iPad Info Center



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 3.00 average. Display Modes
Old 05-06-2012, 11:33 AM   #1
cudaboy_71
All Star
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 874
Question new safari tab defaults to search bar

been enjoying my 1st ipad for a week now. still working out the kinks coming from the full macos.

one thing that's starting to get on my nerves is Safari's default new tab behavior. when i click on the new-tab (+), the resulting tab's behavior is to highlight entry to the Google search field rather than the URL field.

i've looked through the settings, and searched the internet for a solution. but, apparently i'm the only one who wants to be able to type in a URL rather than search for one.

any ideas?
cudaboy_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:18 PM   #2
chabig
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 3,009
I never noticed this, but you're right. I notice that if the cursor is in the address bar, it stays there when you touch the plus sign.
chabig is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-06-2012, 05:59 PM   #3
cudaboy_71
All Star
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 874
Quote:
Originally Posted by chabig
I never noticed this, but you're right. I notice that if the cursor is in the address bar, it stays there when you touch the plus sign.

I noticed this as well, after some tinkering. still takes two taps on different parts of the screen to get a live URL entry. but, tapping the URL field first, then clicking the (+) does seem to yield a quicker redraw as it doesn't pop up the google search history window first.

still would rather have focus on the URL field than google ANY time i click the (+) though.
cudaboy_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 01:59 PM   #4
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,805
One feature I've seen listed for iOS 6 on the iPad is that this has been changed. Now the cursor goes to the URL field instead of the Search field.
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2012, 06:57 PM   #5
cudaboy_71
All Star
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: sacramento, ca
Posts: 874
nice.

i still find it odd that the ipad version differs from the ipod/iphone versions.
cudaboy_71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.