Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 05-03-2012, 10:16 AM   #1
jakeylady2
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Question Putting Windows on a Mac OSX

I am a new user of the Mac and totally love it, however, I am a user of Paint Shop Pro and it is only for Windows. Have any of you ever put Windows on your Mac and if so does it work well and is there any complications?
  Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 04:59 PM   #2
AHunter3
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: New York City
Posts: 3,032
I have Windows XP, 2000 Server, NT 4, 95, and Windows for Workgroups 3.11 as virtual machines under Parallels. (Windows 7 awaits me feeling flush but it's in the plans). (I could post this answer to this thread using any of those operating systems, too, assuming that the ancient version of Internet Explorer that's in 3.11 could cope with vBulletin).

Parallels is one solution, VMWare is the primary competitor; then as an alternative to running a virtual machine, you can use Boot Camp (comes with MacOS) to install Windows on a separate partition and boot natively from it.

Edited to Add: There's s third route also that may work with Paint Shop Pro: WINE or one of the similar kits for running Windows binaries without actually running Windows at all.
AHunter3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 05:21 PM   #3
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,834
Quote:
Originally Posted by AHunter3
Edited to Add: There's s third route also that may work with Paint Shop Pro: WINE or one of the similar kits for running Windows binaries without actually running Windows at all.

CrossOver has varying degrees of compatibility with Paint Shop Pro, depending upon which version.

http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibi...paint+shop+pro
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2012, 09:15 PM   #4
acme.mail.order
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Tokyo
Posts: 6,334
I use Paint Shop Pro (version 7!) in a virtual machine with VMWare Fusion. Works just fine. Setting up folder access is slightly fiddley but only needs to be done once.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	psp-unity mode.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	92.4 KB
ID:	4517  
acme.mail.order is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.