Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Networking



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 04-14-2012, 09:38 PM   #1
acme
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,068
Screen sharing over wireless not reliable?

I achieved screen AND filesharing today between my 2 macs over ethernet cable.

when I tried the same thing with this MB Pro on wireless, I got as far as seeing the other computer on the side panel under "Shared Items" and typed in a password got screensharing to ask me what I wanted, picked screen sharing, then got a barber pole for about 10 minutes.

does this indicated that my wireless connection isn't fast enough to support screen sharing?

thanks!

a
acme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 12:15 AM   #2
fracai
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,087
What is your wireless connection? B/G/N/?

I run ScreenSharing over wireless frequently and with only minor issues. Sometimes I get a long wait, but never as long as 10 minutes. Probably no more than 30 seconds before it just dies on me. Usually, though, I can just retry the connection and it connects quite quickly.

Try setting your connection to adaptive quality.
fracai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 09:51 AM   #3
jsalmi
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Down by the river
Posts: 278
I run screen sharing to my wifes MBP and my daughters iMac a couple times per week via wireless with no issues. All systems are running Lion FWIW.
jsalmi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 01:29 PM   #4
acme
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by fracai
What is your wireless connection? B/G/N/?

I run ScreenSharing over wireless frequently and with only minor issues. Sometimes I get a long wait, but never as long as 10 minutes. Probably no more than 30 seconds before it just dies on me. Usually, though, I can just retry the connection and it connects quite quickly.

Try setting your connection to adaptive quality.

I don't know what B/G/N refers to.

thank you,

a
acme is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 03:00 PM   #5
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,263
Quote:
Originally Posted by acme
I don't know what B/G/N refers to.

Wireless comm protocols - related to speed: 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2012, 04:05 PM   #6
NaOH
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 3,813
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsahli
Wireless comm protocols - related to speed: 802.11b, 802.11g, 802.11n

Your Macs all have 802.11n, but your router may be using one of the other protocols. Most routers for a good number of years now have had at least 802.11g, but it's possible your router could provide 802.11n but is using 802.11g because of a device on your network since the lowest-available protocol in use is what the router will use.

My setup provides an example of this. My Mac, iPhone, and iPad are all 802.11n-capable. So is my Airport Extreme router. But the Extreme uses 802.11g because my old Airport Express can only operate at 802.11b/g.
NaOH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:50 PM   #7
NovaScotian
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 5,117
Quote:
Originally Posted by NaOH
Your Macs all have 802.11n, but your router may be using one of the other protocols. Most routers for a good number of years now have had at least 802.11g, but it's possible your router could provide 802.11n but is using 802.11g because of a device on your network since the lowest-available protocol in use is what the router will use.

My setup provides an example of this. My Mac, iPhone, and iPad are all 802.11n-capable. So is my Airport Extreme router. But the Extreme uses 802.11g because my old Airport Express can only operate at 802.11b/g.

I have an Ethernet cable-connected iMac/AirPortExtreme/MacBook Pro (Snow Leopard) LAN that I screen share through several times a day in both directions. Since you don't say what your Router is, I'm betting it's an old router that's running too slowly.
__________________
17" MBP, OS X; 27" iMac, both OS X 10.9.3
NovaScotian is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2012, 06:53 PM   #8
acme
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,068
this router is a belkin wireless which we got in Feb 2012 at Costco...N 750 DB is the model.

so, I need to dive into the settings make sure it's pumping out 802.11n?


thank you!

a
acme is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.