Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > System



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 04-05-2012, 03:32 AM   #1
ricede
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 598
Question Windows to Mac

Not sure if this is the right place for this question. Please move if incorrect.

A friend is buying a MBPro and wishes to transfer all her stuff from Windows 7. I have checked google etc and everyone seems to point to doing it over a network, using Migration Assistant.

My question is - ' what if there is no network available ?' How would one setup a network between the two machines ? I have never had to deal with Windows AT ALL - so am completely ignorant about it .

If thats too complicated - how could one go about transferring stuff otherwise ? The windows laptop only has USB2.
ricede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 04:37 AM   #2
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,700
If both machines are connected to the internet using a (wireless) router, then that constitutes a network.

I don't know whether USB will work -- I suspect not. However you should be able to connect the two computers together using an Ethernet cable.

Read the Apple page on how to do it. You may need to click on the "Manually Migrating" bit.
http://support.apple.com/kb/HT2518
benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 05:34 AM   #3
ricede
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 598
Thanks for that - i did see that support.apple page & got a bit confused. I think i have a phobia about windows !!!

It occurred to me that in the uk - when you buy a mac in an apple store - they will do a migration from Windows to a new mac for you.
So i rang the store in bangalore & asked if they would do it if we bought the mac from them. A very definate NO was their answer. India is not easy sometimes.

I shall try the wireless router route.
ricede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 06:42 AM   #4
agentx
Hall of Famer
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Brighton, UK
Posts: 4,112
Migrations happen over network but there are other ways. USB is not one of them !

I would advise using an Ethernet connection but WIFI should be ok.
Just get both machines connected to same network ideally using a router for ease.

Then use Migration assistant it will talk you through everything ;-)
agentx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 07:12 AM   #5
ricede
All Star
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: India
Posts: 598
Miracles DO happen ! I rang a different apple shop in bangalore & they said that if we bought the MBP from them - they were happy to migrate everything, while we were there. So it looks like i shant have to get involved after all. Very happy
ricede is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.