Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Hardware and Peripherals



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 2 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Old 03-25-2012, 09:15 AM   #1
Imacer
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 305
Erase space on hard drive...

Why would someone want to erase free space on a hard drive? Good or bad idea.
__________________
27'' Dual Core i7, 1 TB GB drive, 12 GB Ram, Safari. 2 external 1GB & 3GB external WD drives, Lacie blue-rey burner
Imacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:40 AM   #2
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,595
Usually, to ensure that any data there cannot be recovered.
benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 10:04 AM   #3
fracai
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 2,078
Also to detect bad blocks.
fracai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 11:36 AM   #4
Imacer
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 305
So do I lose any current data? First time for me to do this. Is it a good idea to do this at times or not?
__________________
27'' Dual Core i7, 1 TB GB drive, 12 GB Ram, Safari. 2 external 1GB & 3GB external WD drives, Lacie blue-rey burner
Imacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 12:46 PM   #5
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,595
Why do you think this is something that you might want to do now?

There is no need to do this (or any other "regular" maintenance). It will not improve your hard disk speed, fragmentation or anything else.

I wouldn't bother unless you're going to sell your Mac on to someone else, or you've got trouble with the drive and you're erasing and re-partitioning.
benwiggy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 08:26 PM   #6
retrofloppy
Triple-A Player
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 51
Quote:
Originally Posted by Imacer
Why would someone want to erase free space on a hard drive?

This is a good idea for virtual machines, as it reduces the size overhead of snapshots, exported appliances, etc. But for standalone machines - not so much.
retrofloppy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:58 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.