Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Hardware and Peripherals



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 07:54 PM   #1
kenbkr
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
emac external Hard drive loading 10.5

I am trying to find out can I start up my emac using external hard drive.
an also on external hard drive can i load 10.5.

The problem is my emac will not take cd or dvd's .And I can not repair it.
Because it spit out the disk everytime I try to load it.

Thanks, Ken
kenbkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 05:00 PM   #2
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,756
Quote:
I am trying to find out can I start up my emac using external hard drive.
an also on external hard drive can i load 10.5.

You can definitely start your eMac using an external FireWire hard drive. To start your eMac using an external USB hard drive is more difficult, I believe it only works for versions of OS X that are 10.5.x and later. And you cannot use OS X 10.6.x on an eMac, since beginning with OS X 10.6, OS X requires an Intel processor.

As far as whether you can use OS X 10.5.x on your eMac, you'll need to tell us WHICH eMac it is. Without any hacks, you can install OS X 10.5.x on Macs that have a 867 MHz or faster processor. Does your eMac have a fast enough processor?

Quote:
The problem is my emac will not take cd or dvd's .And I can not repair it.
Because it spit out the disk everytime I try to load it.

Just replace the optical (in other words, the CD and DVD) drive in your eMac. It's cheap, if you can open up the eMac and install it yourself.

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:42 AM   #3
kenbkr
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Yes it is a 1.25 processer should be fast enough.
kenbkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:00 AM   #4
kenbkr
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
also would it be easy to just buy external dvd superdrive. and load ox10. 5
from that. to the emac.

Thanks, Ken
kenbkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 07:47 AM   #5
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,449
10.5 also needs a minimum of 512 MB of RAM memory installed.
A 1.25 GHz eMac can be upgraded to as much as 2 GB.

You need an external burner that has a Firewire interface.
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:52 PM   #6
kenbkr
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Yes I have 1 gig of memory installed.
kenbkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:18 AM   #7
Cris Frison
Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 9
You can use external USB bootable disk.
Cris Frison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 07:30 AM   #8
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,449
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cris Frison
You can use external USB bootable disk.

No, you _can't_, not without a lot of struggle to get that to work.
Booting to USB is not worth trying on an eMac.
If you don't want to replace the internal CD drive, then your choice is an external Firewire drive.
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2012, 12:56 PM   #9
kenbkr
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 5
Thanks, Deltamac
Ken
kenbkr is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.