Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Applications



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 03-22-2012, 04:29 PM   #1
Cote623
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
Compiz cube

Ok so i posted this in developer and got nothing in return for a response im just curious as to wether or not it can be done. Would it be possible to make a cube in Quartz composer then somehow make that cube be the screen change for Expose & Spaces. If it cant be done a simple no will be fine otherwise any ideas on ways to make it work are appreciated.
Cote623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 07:44 PM   #2
Cote623
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
So its safe to assume nobody has any idea what im talking about or you all show no interest in being creative
Cote623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2012, 09:29 PM   #3
DeltaMac
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 8,500
No, your assumption is misplaced, at best...
Between your 3 threads on this same question, you have had nearly 600 views - so you've had a lot of folks interested enough to take a look at your request.
I am not a programmer/developer, but I searched for what you are asking.
IMHO - A compiz cube looks like a lot of eye-candy - even for OS X
But, to each his own!

Are you just looking for some encouragement to start your project? I can do that, anyway.
I think that all you need to do is start coding this for yourself. See if you can get it to work.

Come back to the developer's area, or to Apple's own developer support pages. Describe what you have tried, and what works, and what doesn't work. Maybe your time here will be more effective, after trying a few things on your own.
What more could anyone possibly want?
DeltaMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2012, 02:30 AM   #4
benwiggy
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: London
Posts: 5,753
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cote623
or you all show no interest in being creative

Making remarks likes this isn't the best way to get a positive response.

I doubt whether anyone has actually done what you are asking before; but that doesn't mean that the knowledge isn't out there.

Am I right in thinking that you want essentially the same animated effect for Spaces as the one that is used for fast user switching? Might be worth looking at how that is achieved.
benwiggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 01:18 AM   #5
Cote623
Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 6
all i was asking for was a response in some sort rather than have 600 ppl look but never say a damn thing about wether it or not my idea was compeletly crazy. also if that animated effect for Spaces shows a cube rotating into the "space" chosen then yes
Cote623 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-27-2012, 02:46 AM   #6
vanakaru
All Star
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 634
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cote623
all i was asking for was a response in some sort rather than have 600 ppl look but never say a damn thing about wether it or not my idea was compeletly crazy

Probably all these 600 including me found this idea too trivial to answer. And that is the answer by itself.
vanakaru is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.