Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > Networking



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old 02-27-2012, 07:16 PM   #1
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
Wireless Internet problem losing signal

my system is OS X 10.4.11 tiger

processor 2.16 Ghz Intel Core Duo

I'm having a problem loosing the signal for wireless internet.
After my mac is on for 2-3 hours its goes to "work off line mode" because I loose the signal. I tried resetting everything and could not get the signal back unless I was 2 feet in front of the linksys unit. I purchased a new linksys but I had the same problem so I returned it.
For 5 years my mac was fine; I started loosing wireless internet signal 3 months ago.

I also own a PC Vista Sony lap top and it works great for hours without loosing any signal.

I could use your expert help!

Denise
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:48 PM   #2
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
You haven't told us what Mac model it is.

I suggest you install iStumbler and tell us (or screen capture and show us) what it says about signal strength and neighbor signals. Including when the problem starts.
http://www.istumbler.net/
(notice there's a version for Tiger 10.4)
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 09:59 PM   #3
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
MacBook Pro

I can see my neighbor's network name however my mac does not display the signal bars but my pc does. My neighbor and I have live next to each other for 10 years and I aske him if he changed anything on his wireless equipment. He said no. On my PC my neighbor and I both have 4 to 5 bars. This evening when I turned on my mac I have 4-5 bars for 2.50 hours and then nothing.


I will check out http://www.istumbler.net/

Denise
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2012, 10:40 PM   #4
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
I downloaded istumbler and I cant see any network because after 2 hours on the internet I lost my signal. I purchased a 30' twisted cable to connect the mac to the cable modem.

I took the laptop into the kitchen which is 10 ft from the linksys and all I can see is my signal with 1 bar.

I turned on my PC and I have full signal and can see my neighbor's signal.
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:36 AM   #5
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
I'm guessing that you have a bad airport card.
The card is replaceable.
I don't know if this is your exact model, but read this to see if you want to attempt this:
http://www.ifixit.com/Guide/Installi...rt-Card/6019/1

Any chance you are under warranty?
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 08:43 AM   #6
jsalmi
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Down by the river
Posts: 281
I'll second the possible faulty hardware vote, and suggest taking the MBP to a reputable repair shop for diagnosis.
jsalmi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:35 PM   #7
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
It sure sounds like the airport card!
I purchased my mac in 2006 and its like new, not scratches anywhere and I dont touch the screen like some people poke their fingernails into it.

I still have the original battery and it does not hold a charge for longer than 5 minutes. Last year my power cord shorted, there was a brown mark in the white cord coating so i purchased a new one. I also was notified by Apple to apply for a refund which I did back in December 2011 however I have not received my 79.00 refund.
There is an Apple store 30 minutes from me, I bring it there.

Thank you all very much! Its so nice to receive help from the MAC EXPERTS!

Denise
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 07:46 PM   #8
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
I forgot to tell you when I pushed the reset to the linksys I no longer could enter the password back because of the dated software. My wireless signal is no longer secure. My mac never supported the software so I loaded the CD on my PC. Since I have Vista and have updated the software the linksys will not accept the original password.

Any ideas?

I un plug the power cord when Im not using the linksys.
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:44 PM   #9
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
Most routers don't need the software on CD to do router settings. You use a browser, and enter your router's IP address like this:
http://192.168.0.1
(yours may not be this same number, by the way)
It takes you to the router's built-in admin web server. Don't forget to click "apply" to set changes and "logout" when done.
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2012, 10:57 PM   #10
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
Great!

I will try that tomorrow when I get home.

Thank you very much!!:
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:03 AM   #11
trevor
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Boulder, CO USA
Posts: 19,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Denise1714
I forgot to tell you when I pushed the reset to the linksys I no longer could enter the password back because of the dated software. My wireless signal is no longer secure.

<snip>

the linksys will not accept the original password.

Because you pushed the reset button, your Linksys set it's username and password back to the defaults. You will want to log in to it and make it secure as soon as you can.

Here are the default usernames and passwords for different Linksys routers

The default IP address of the vast majority of Linksys routers is

http://192.168.1.1

...although there are a few that use

http://192.168.2.1

Trevor
trevor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2012, 11:06 PM   #12
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
I followed your instructions, entered my info and changed the password. I see my linksys signal in istumber as secure but cant join it so I reset the linksys again and reset the password on line. When I enter the password and click apply I'm no longer connected its unable to join the network. When I remove the password I can get the signal.
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 09:40 AM   #13
gsahli
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Chicago
Posts: 1,264
It sounds like you used the wrong type of encryption. There's WEP and WPA or WPA-PSK. Use the WPA or WPA-PSK (PSK just means pre-shared-key).
gsahli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-01-2012, 10:47 AM   #14
SirDice
MVP
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,119
Configure the wireless part of your router while using the wired connection on your laptop(s).

Changing wireless settings while connected to that same wireless network will cause problems.
SirDice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-02-2012, 10:18 PM   #15
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
Hi
Sorry for the late reply. The original setting was WEP; I will try changing it to WPA or WPA-PSK tomorrow.

I tried changing the pass word with the twisted wire instead of wireless.

Denise
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2012, 12:30 PM   #16
Denise1714
Prospect
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Clearwater, Florida
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by gsahli
It sounds like you used the wrong type of encryption. There's WEP and WPA or WPA-PSK. Use the WPA or WPA-PSK (PSK just means pre-shared-key).

I reset the router back to factory settings and tried starting over.

I tried every encryptions and I still cant make my wireless secure.
Denise1714 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.