Go Back   The macosxhints Forums > OS X Help Requests > UNIX - X11



Reply
 
Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 7 votes, 4.86 average. Display Modes
Old 02-10-2003, 09:34 PM   #1
rusto
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,487
.bash_profile in X11 xterm

Install of X11 (pb 0.2) and Fink and am wondering why it seems that xterm does not "see" my existing .bash_profile as it launches. It has no problem with .bashrc as my funky prompt shows up as expected.
__________________
:: 3.4GHz Core i7 iMac 4GB RAM :: Black MacBook SR :: 10.7.2 :: iPhone 4 / iOS 5 ::
rusto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 09:58 PM   #2
mervTormel
League Commissioner
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 5,536
xterm is not run as a 'login' shell and the .bash_profile is not sourced. you could put a check for terminal type xterm and source the profile from .bashrc, but you have to be careful that your profile doesn't then source .bashrc and get into a loop
mervTormel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2003, 11:24 PM   #3
sao
Moderator
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Singapore
Posts: 4,237
rusto,

Check the following thread at x11-users list:


http://lists.apple.com/mhonarc/x11-users/msg01232.html
sao is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 07:14 AM   #4
rusto
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 1,487
Thumbs up Thanks

This is the tip that worked for me:

Quote:
>I put this in my ~/.Xdefaults;

>XTerm*.LoginShell: True
>

Note: for those flummoxed by trying to login to the link in Sao's post, see the info here: http://search.lists.apple.com/x11-users
__________________
:: 3.4GHz Core i7 iMac 4GB RAM :: Black MacBook SR :: 10.7.2 :: iPhone 4 / iOS 5 ::
rusto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2003, 07:15 AM   #5
ericw13
Major Leaguer
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 268
Quote:
Originally posted by mervTormel
xterm is not run as a 'login' shell and the .bash_profile is not sourced. you could put a check for terminal type xterm and source the profile from .bashrc, but you have to be careful that your profile doesn't then source .bashrc and get into a loop

If this is correct, then is there something wrong with my xinitrc:
Code:
$ tail -2 /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc
/sw/bin/blackbox &
exec xterm -geometry 80x24+0+20 -fg white -bg black -name login 
$
I know this is the file that executes, as X11.app comes up with the blackbox wm, not quartz-wm, but my .bash_profile is not sourced...

Thanks
Eric

PS Everything above the last two lines is left unchanged from the original XDarwin install... yes, I still have both lying around.
ericw13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2012, 08:52 AM   #6
wryder
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Thanks!

Rusto, that's what worked for me too. Thanks! Note: I had to actually create that file; it wasn't there beforehand.
  Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Site design © IDG Consumer & SMB; individuals retain copyright of their postings
but consent to the possible use of their material in other areas of IDG Consumer & SMB.