PDA

View Full Version : Need to restore System\Library folder on my iMac!

bosslove
02-21-2009, 12:11 PM
Yes, I've done something incredibly stupid--I accidentally deleted my Library folder (NOT the User folder, but the one in the System folder).

Please note I am new to macs and am not incredibly familiar with their inner workings, so I apologize if any of this sounds inaccurate in any way.

With that out of the way, here is the HOW and what happened thereafter part that you may just skip over, as the fact remains that I deleted the folder. I was trying to add (many, many) fonts to the Font folder, I dropped it straight into the System folder with intent to move, had to authenticate or whatever (put in my password). After having attempted to copy them further into the font folder (which didn't work), I highlighted and deleted them, unknowingly also dragging the Library folder into the trash, and authorized it because I thought it was just fonts and that they were being silly about being deleted. WELL I noticed soon after and clicked the small "x" to try and cancel the delete, and even hit command+z, but the folder did not come back. I tried digging it out of the trash, but ALAS it was not there. Soon thereafter, the finder shut down, and I could do nothing but hard boot the computer. Upon booting it back up, I got a series of images--the apple, a folder with a "?" on it, and a "no" sign (circle with slash through it).