PDA

View Full Version : Should I format a new Western Digital Passport hard drive?

sweetlight
11-11-2008, 12:17 AM
Hey there. Newbie to the forum here. Many thanks in advance for any help.

I'm a photographer, working on an Intel MBPro, OSx 10.4.11
I just purchased a 250 gb Western Digital Passport hard drive. I regularly transfer folders of images, delete images, copy, and replace various files or folders.

The drive comes formatted FAT32, but I noticed the WD portable aimed for Mac users comes formatted HFS, I think. (I have no idea what any of this actually means, just that FAT32 can be used on both Mac & PC.) This particular drive will likely only be used on this machine (or, at most, another mac). So, my first question is, should I change the formatting to HFS? I have also read that FAT32 format has a 4 gb file limit.... does that apply to a folder, or just an individual file? My image files are certainly under 4 gb, but often folders of images are not. I was just not sure if a folder is considered a file...?

Second question... In disk utility, is "format" actually the "erase" tab? In Disk Utility the drive shows up as 2 drive icons. (I'm guessing this is partitioning...?) Which should I format? The top icon is listed as "WD2500BEV External Media" (and shows format as "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)"). The second, nested icon is the simpler "My Passport" that shows in a Finder window. This is the version that's listed as "MS-DOS file system" format.

Lastly, if I should format, do I use the first, "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)" choice? Which Security Option should I use?

I'm sure a few of these questions are extremely elementary... apologies if they are glaringly so. I'm defintiely not going to work at a Genuis Bar anytime soon. But I do send profuse thanks for any help and answers!

solipsism
11-11-2008, 02:32 AM
You are correct that the max file size for FAT32 is 4GB, and that pertains to the files, not the overall folder size.