PDA

View Full Version : The Thin Green Line


Photek
12-13-2007, 12:14 PM
.... so a thin vertical green line... about 1 pixel wide has appeared on the desktop of my iMac G5...

I presume this is a problem with the graphics card... has anyone else had this problem?.. I guess I will need to replace the graphics card... but I was wondering if anyone knows of a cheap fix?!

ThreeDee
12-13-2007, 12:37 PM
It might possibly be the LCD, not the graphics card. What happens if you change the resolution of the screen?

Photek
12-13-2007, 01:01 PM
What happens if you change the resolution of the screen?

its still there... its also still there when I switch users and when I restart :mad:

This iMac has been running flawlessly since I bought it... and I was gonna eBay it on Saturday!

macosnoob
12-13-2007, 02:54 PM
First, see if it's covered by the iMac G5 Repair Extension Program for Video and Power Issues:

http://www.apple.com/support/imac/repairextensionprogram/

Then see this thread for others with the same trouble as you:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=962994

Best of luck!

Photek
12-13-2007, 04:18 PM
First, see if it's covered by the iMac G5 Repair Extension Program for Video and Power Issues:

http://www.apple.com/support/imac/repairextensionprogram/

Then see this thread for others with the same trouble as you:

http://discussions.apple.com/thread.jspa?threadID=962994

Best of luck!

thanks for taking the time to find both the links... but I think I am on my own with this one... time to call in a few favors with my local Mac tech :)

tlarkin
12-13-2007, 04:24 PM
Here is the easiest way to tell if it is the LCD or the video card.

Hook up video out to an external display, does the line reproduce?

If yes, then its the video card.

If no, then its the LCD of the iMac.

Photek
12-13-2007, 04:34 PM
Here is the easiest way to tell if it is the LCD or the video card.

Hook up video out to an external display, does the line reproduce?

If yes, then its the video card.

If no, then its the LCD of the iMac.

thanks Tom.... will have to find a monitor from somewhere to test it out...

gahhhh... bloody computers... who needs them...?!

(me.. apparently)

Ronnie0
12-14-2007, 10:35 AM
i have to say, usually when there are artifacts on the screen which shouldn't be there, its the graphics card. Could be over heating? Does it show them when you're at the login screen?