PDA

View Full Version : Partitions


str1d3r
11-22-2007, 03:55 AM
I just partitioned my main HDD using diskutil but now I realized I don't need the extra partition that came from that process. Is there some way I can remove the new partition (that has absolutely zero data on it) and tell the volume to use the extra space that's left as part of my main partition?
Thanks.

trevor
11-22-2007, 10:45 AM
Yes. Make a good backup of the main partition, erase the drive and make it a single partition, then restore from backup to your drive.

Trevor

Wee_Guy
11-22-2007, 11:01 AM
I *think* Leopard can resize partitions without erasing the drive, but if you are running anything other that Leopard then you'll have to follow trevors advice. I'd advise that if you are going to be putting your hard drive's content on another drive, that you put it on a bootable one, just incase.

str1d3r
11-22-2007, 01:45 PM
Oh, I do like reinstalls. :p

Thanks guys.