PDA

View Full Version : GarageBand: how to slow down a song

rda52
02-06-2007, 08:02 PM
this is my first time using garageband, so i dont really know what it can and cant do, so please accept my apology if i sound like a noob.

ok the problem is that i have a .mp3 song that i need to slow down, the song is for a theater performance. ive tried changing the tempo but it doesnt affect the track of the mp3 file only the master track, which doesnt slow down the song. how do i slow down the song, or what program should i use? thanks in advance.

theyranos
02-07-2007, 11:19 AM
GarageBand's documentation seems to suggest that you can't do this.

Grab yourself a copy of Audacity (http://audacity.sourceforge.net/). Open the song, select the entire track, then go to "Change Tempo..." in the effects menu.

schneb
02-07-2007, 11:21 AM
Post to the folks here. You will get some great ideas and answers...

http://discussions.apple.com/forum.jspa?forumID=1120&start=0

There is other software that would be better for this. There is Amazing Slowdowner, and my application of choice, AmadeusPro. With the latter you can adjust the speed without messing with the pitch (or vise verse).

http://www.hairersoft.com/AmadeusPro/AmadeusPro.html

GarageBand is a music creation application, not so much a sound manipulation application.

rda52
02-10-2007, 01:12 AM
thanks for the help guys and the audacity tip, it worked great.

Markus Dehmann
03-13-2007, 08:10 PM
You can slow a song down using GarageBand! You don't have to resort to Audacity or whatever.

It's a weird, but very simple procedure:

1. Drag your audio file (MP3, M4A, ...) in GarageBand. It's shown as an orange track.
2. Press Ctrl+Alt+G
3. Click the audio track. It is now blue.
4. Check "Follow Tempo & Pitch" (this is in the wave editor section, which you get by clicking the scissors symbol next to the eye)
5. Now change the tempo (next to the song time display)

Hope this helps!