PDA

View Full Version : 50 hertz to 60


Shaun666
01-23-2007, 01:02 PM
Hi I have a composite recorder that can only record in 50 hertz but I tried doing it in 60 and the picture was fine but the colours were a bit green. Is there anyway this can be corrected with some software or do I need a new recorder?
Thanks

Shaun666
01-24-2007, 06:30 AM
bumpity bump
Am I allowed to bump?

acme.mail.order
01-24-2007, 06:37 AM
You can, but unless you explain your problem in much better detail you won't get any better results. I assume it's video, and I assume you are in Europe? Whcih video system? What kind of card? How are you recording? What is the source? Which OS? What editing/recording program?

And so on.

Shaun666
01-24-2007, 11:18 AM
I am in the UK and yes it is video. It is recording 50hertz, it is an Elgato Hybrid external TV/recording card via USB. I am using EyeTV to record, my source is composite from my Xbox 360. I am using Mac OS X 10.4, I am currently using EyeTV to record but I am willing to change to something else, I was going to use iMovie HD or something better like Final Cut to edit.
Can anyone give me any way to correct the color problem with recording a 60hertz input with a 50hertz card. Can it be corrected using some software?
Thanks

schneb
01-24-2007, 02:06 PM
All green? Check to make sure your component plugs are hooked up correctly. A bit green? It may be the differences in monitor output. This slight difference can be easily tweaked with FinalCut's 2 or 3 way color correction.

Shaun666
01-24-2007, 02:41 PM
Not component, composite so Y/R/W. If anyone can tell me more I would be greatful for a second opinion. The reason the color is off is because I'm captureing 60hertz video with a 50hertz recorder, I just need to know if it can be converted or corrected or something. I thought I would buy Final Cut but then I went and looked at its price tag $1200! MAD
Thanks

Shaun666
01-24-2007, 07:42 PM
BUMP
Sorry if I'm impatiant but its rather urgent as I am loosing out on content.

AussieSusan
01-24-2007, 08:08 PM
50/60 Hz difference doesn't sound like the cause of the problem to me - if anything you might get either some picture locking (rolling image etc) or a picture that is too big/small (under/over scanning of the frame).

Try using the XBox (which I assume is the 60Hz part of your question) on a local TV set (which will also be 50Hz). Does the problem transfer over to the TV?

Also try a 50Hz video source into the Elgato device and see if that works OK.

Shaun666
01-25-2007, 05:51 AM
On my TV set it shows find at 60hertz but it also supports 60hertz. But my recorder doesn't support it and thats greenish. Yes when putting 50hertz into my Elgato Hybrid its fine but not with 60hz.
I don't believe its anything that can be fixed in the hardware side but I was thinking you could maybe correct it after it has been recorded or something.
Please Help.
Thanks

Shaun666
01-25-2007, 06:21 PM
BUMP
I need help!
Please :)