PDA

View Full Version : itunes won't stay closed and keeps opening itself

kid4today
11-27-2006, 04:41 AM
I have an intel imac and the latest version of itunes, whenever i try to quit itunes it disappears for a few seconds then re-opens itself. it also occasionally just opens by itself. it doesn't seem to matter how i try to close it either, i can use the menu or keyboard and it still opens itself back up a few seconds after closing. I have no ipod connected and have disabled the itunes widget on my dashboard. This is also messing up shut downs as itunes cancels the shut down each time by re-opening itself which is extremely annoying. I think it may be messing with my ipod aswell, after i sync my ipod with itunes it creates errors on the ipod drive (i have to repair it with disk utility each time). I'm new to macs and am unsure how to uninstall itunes, but i'd like to try this and then reinstall to see if it makes any difference. If i do uninstall then reinstall will itunes remember certain things such as my track ratings, playlists etc? i know that on my old pc itunes had a library file that remembered this sort of thing so you could reinstall then replace the library file with an old saved version.

Jay Carr
11-27-2006, 01:22 PM
I wouldn't uninstall, there is a slightly easier 'reset' you can do with OSX.

First, make a second user. Go into that second user (and make sure you shut down the first one) and see if iTunes does the same thing. If it does, we have a big problem and you're going to want to just report back at that point.

But if not (which is what I suspect) then you have a bad preference file (which I swear is the problem half the time...). At that point you going to find the preference file by searching for all iTunes files inside of spotlight then looking for anything that ends with ".plist".