PDA

View Full Version : Startup Problems!!!

ma11590
11-21-2006, 11:19 AM
Im running an iBook G4 with version 10.4.8
and i had been using my laptop to download stuff off a bittorrent program. (im pretty sure this had nothing to do with it) but i shutdown my laptop and turned it on and now it's stuck on the apple screen.

It stays there for a minute or two and then shuts off.

In Single User Mode. (im not an expert on it or anything) but when i ran that system check thing /sbin/fsck -fy it says Invalid sibling link (4, 19308) and then on the next line it says Volume check failed.

Does anybody know what i can do? (FYI) this is a school issued laptop so i can't do anything to it like restore it with a cd or anything like that. :(

hayne
11-21-2006, 11:28 AM
You could buy DiskWarrior and use it to fix your filesystem.
But that would require that you have the admin password - do you have admin access on this Mac?
If not, you should just take it to the school's tech support people and tell them it has filesystem corruption that 'fsck' can't fix.

ma11590
11-21-2006, 11:31 AM
You could buy DiskWarrior and use it to fix your filesystem.
But that would require that you have the admin password - do you have admin access on this Mac?
If not, you should just take it to the school's tech support people and tell them it has filesystem corruption that 'fsck' can't fix.

i do have admin access. But no money to buy that program. So it's filesystem corruption?

hayne
11-21-2006, 11:44 AM
Yes - that's what the message from 'fsck' is saying.
fsck can fix some types of filesystem corruption (that's its purpose in life) but not all types.

If you have a backup of the files that you care about, I don't see what is stopping you from erasing the disk and reinstalling OS X. I guess it's that you don't have the Install DVD.

ma11590
11-21-2006, 01:06 PM
Yes - that's what the message from 'fsck' is saying.