PDA

View Full Version : Applescript Quicktime Open Image Sequence

ghull27
11-20-2006, 04:35 PM
Hi,

I have a series of many folders containing individual image sequences that I would like to make movies out of using quicktime pro. Given the large number of folders I must do this for I would like to automate the task with applescript if possible. Unfortunately I have no experience with the language and don't quite know where to start. Can anyone provide any help to get started with this project? I imagine it shouldn't be difficult for someone with some applescript experience, and I'd really appreciate the help!

Thank you!

davidw
11-25-2006, 12:22 AM
not enough details man
see if you can do the whole process using only the keyboard,
if so you will very easily be able to script your operation.

capitalj
11-25-2006, 10:24 AM
You could try this folder action.

Attach it to an empty folder, then drop folders of image sequences onto that folder. The movie will be saved inside the image sequence folder, with the first image's name as the movie name.

Hope that helps.

on adding folder items to thisFolder after receiving droppedFolders
repeat with aFolder in droppedFolders

tell application "Finder" to set theSequence to (get first file of aFolder as alias)

tell application "QuickTime Player"
activate
open image sequence theSequence

set nameSequence to (theSequence as string) & ".mov"

tell movie 1
with timeout of 500 seconds
save self contained in nameSequence
end timeout

close

end tell
end tell

end repeat
end adding folder items to

ghull27
11-27-2006, 12:34 PM
Thanks, this helps a lot. hope it wasn't too much trouble

jan_sobie
12-07-2006, 11:46 AM
This seems very helpful for me as well, but I've encountered a problem. This script doesn't give the possiblity to set the framerate to 25, which is vital for me. I've checked the applescript dictionary on this and here's what I get :

"open image sequence file : the file representing first image of the image sequence