PDA

View Full Version : XML Woes - Confused

tdeprato
08-18-2006, 11:11 AM
Hi.

I have been coding on my OX 10.3.9 Ibook for over a year now. Before that I was on Windows. I have had no issues with php, html, css, java script, java, or python. I was editing a few XML files off and on but nothing complex.

Recently I have been studying XML more and trying to use it more. I am a very bad Java programmer, but I have seen some Java XML stuff that I would like to try.

So I bought a book on XML and it came with a CD. Basically 100% of the code will run in Explorer or Firefox on XP but only about 40% will run on OS X. is this normal?

Any ideas on fixing this would be great!

Here is a sample - this is the xml file the second set of code will be its style sheet. Save this one as squares_z.xml and the second as squares_z.css .
Then if they are in the same directory they should run in the browser.
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<?xml-stylesheet type="text/css" href="squares_z.css"?>

<squares>
<square class="one">
Square One
</square>
<square class="two">
Square Two
</square>
<square class="three">
Square Three
</square>
<square class="four">
Square Four
</square>
</squares>
-------------------------------------------------------------------------
square {
display:block;
position:absolute;
width:100px;
height:100px;
color:black;
text-align:center;
}

square.one {
background-color:red;
z-index:0;
left:0px;
top:0px;
}

square.two {
background-color:green;
z-index:3;
left:75px;
top:25px;
}

square.three {
background-color:blue;
z-index:2;
left:150px;
top:50px;
}

square.four {
background-color:yellow;
z-index:1;
left:225px;
top:75px;
}
--------------------------------------------------------------------------

hayne
08-18-2006, 11:53 AM
You neglected to tell us what goes wrong when you try those files.