PDA

View Full Version : How to find out if a process is suspended or not?


petey
09-03-2002, 04:15 AM
how can i find out in the terminal if a process is suspended or not?

TIA

mervTormel
09-03-2002, 08:37 AM
hmm, % man ps says a stopped process will have a T in the status, but i can't get it to show for stopped jobs {sigh}

could you explain what you mean by "suspended"? and is there is a specific issue you're trying to resolve?

petey
09-03-2002, 09:35 AM
i'm tired of MS Word sucking up 10% - 15% of my CPU when it's in the background.

so i'm trying to engineer a way to suspend/resume Word using the kill -STOP and kill -CONT commands.

but it would be easier to automate if i could find the current status of the app.

mervTormel
09-03-2002, 09:56 AM
i see. well, since ps doesn't seem to reflect the T in the job state, you'll have to resort to some sentinel turd toggle switch. something like...

turd=~/.word.stopped

pid=# get the pid of app

if [ ! -f $turd ]; then kill -STOP $pid; touch $turd; fi

if [ -f $turd ]; then kill -CONT $pid; rm $turd; fi

try that and let us know

mervTormel
09-03-2002, 11:46 AM
a bit more refined...

#!/bin/sh

# file: kork - toggle MS word thru STOP and CONT

#set -x

turd=~/.word.stopped

wpid=`ps wwax | egrep -i '[m]icrosoft word -psn' | cut -b 1-5`

# echo $wpid; exit

if [ ! $wpid ]; then

echo no me gusta; exit;

fi

if [ ! -f $turd ]; then

kill -STOP $wpid; touch $turd; echo "word kork'd";

else

kill -CONT $wpid; rm $turd; echo "unkork'd word";

fi