PDA

View Full Version : how do i open an exel xlr file?

wanadoo
10-21-2005, 09:32 AM
Hi, i'm new with apple, i always had pcs and now i have an imac,
i have lots of excel files with the extension xlr and i cannot open them with my new mac, i have exel in my mac but the extension of the files i can opes is xls, is there any way to open xlr files or convert them to xls?
thaks. ps my imac is g4 mac ox 10.1.5

hayne
10-21-2005, 10:10 AM
Googling for that file extension shows that ".xlr" indicates an MS Works file (See e.g. http://www.webopedia.com/quick_ref/fileextensionsx.asp)
So it seems that you don't have Excel files, you have MS Works files.
I don't know if Excel can import these. You may need to go back to MS Works and export them as something Excel-compatible.

By the way, the 10.1.5 version of OS X is now extremely old - the current version (Tiger) is 10.4 (as opposed to 10.1 that you have). You will find that your Mac will be much faster (as well as more feature-full) with a more recent version of OS X. You can usually get a copy of older versions of OS X quite cheaply on eBay. Make sure that you get a retail version of the CD, not just an upgrade or "restore" disk (that came with some particular model of Mac).

But depending on what iMac you have, you might need to upgrade the iMac's firmware before upgrading to 10.2 or later. Check with the Apple site.

(You said that you have a G4 iMac - that would indicate a relatively recent machine which then wouldn't need a firmware update. But then why do you have such an old version of OS X on it? I don't think there were any G4 iMacs that shipped with 10.1)

robarmo
10-21-2005, 10:21 AM
Actually, the original versions (like mine) shipped with Mac OS X 10.1.2

The only ever firmware update I've required was for the SuperDrive, which only applied to the top-end model as the others at the time came with combo drives.

I hope to have informed you sufficiently ;)
hehe.

Rob.

hayne
10-21-2005, 10:35 AM