PDA

View Full Version : How do I NOT preserve resource forks?

Rich B
08-11-2005, 09:16 AM
Hello people,

I'm rather new to my Mac (and seriously considering blatting OS-X with Linux instead). I seem to be having the opposite problem to everyone else in that I DON'T want to preserve resource forks when I tar up my files.

This is on a 10.4.2 system on the system disk (which is formatted as HFS+ I believe - I've not changed the format it since I bought it... but I'm considering it!)

Scenario is...
1/ I have some stuff that I edit
2/ I tar this up in the usual way
3/ Copy the tar to another (non Mac) machine and untar it
4/ A bunch of "._***" resource fork files get unpacked along with the files that I was actually interested in.

I have tried this several times to make sure I wasn't doing something stupid, but no, this seems to be what is happening.

I can't see any resource files at all on the Mac. I read that "ls -l <file>/rsrc" should show up the resource forks but there's nothing there when I try this. So either I've got this wrong or the ._*** files are being generated on the fly when tar is run.

I would rather the resource fork files were not being created at all, but it seems that this is a pipedream (unless someone knows otherwise - oh, PLEASE say you do). But if I can't see them from the command line, I can't delete them!

I'm assuming Apple have hacked the 'ls' command to hide this stuff? Does anyone know if a standard (separate) 'ls' command is available that will actually do what I ask and not lie to me, or will I have to install a complete new shell? Oh, for a Mac that worked like a PROPER unix box!!!

Any clues would be much appreciated.

regards

Rich.

JDV
08-11-2005, 10:11 AM