PDA

View Full Version : Destroy airport express or myslef?

casares
07-29-2005, 05:14 AM
Im a beginner so please be patient. At work we've got a wired network. Ive got one ethernet wire in my office. If I plug it in to my ethernet port of my ibook I am connected to the inet and other computers either as long as my network settings are like this: automatic-built in ethernet - TCP/IP - configure IPv4: manually - and then fill in all the funny long numbers provided by the ISP uncluding dns server. Then proxies: check ftp, web and secure web proxies filling the same ftp proxy server and port in. The PASV is checked as well. Thats it, when I press apply and open safari - itworks all fine.

Now I want to connect my single office ethernet wire to airport express so I (just me cause noone else has got wifi card) can visit my colleges in other offices while beeing connected. I created a network, set the base station as a bridge, in the internet section of airport admin utility filled all the same number from system pref/network. Then I let show airport in my location on sys pref/network and filled in the proxies.
The airport express thing flashes green but I still can't connect to the internet neither see other computers etc. And I am desperate

Then an allert message occures when I join the wireless network: 192.168.1.111 in use by 00:11:24:61:4a:f0 (the first is my ip adress)

Network status says:airport is connected to the network. AP does not have an ip adress and cannot connect to the internet. And I can't see the base station in the AP admin utility.

Any help would be very kind.

casares
07-29-2005, 05:16 AM
Forgot: ibook g4, os x 10.4.2.

trevor
07-29-2005, 09:37 AM
configure IPv4: manually - and then fill in all the funny long numbers provided by the ISP uncluding dns server.

<snip>

in the internet section of airport admin utility filled all the same number from system pref/network.