PDA

View Full Version : Who actually uses Final Cut Studio?


CAlvarez
07-12-2005, 05:15 PM
I picked up a copy for a project. All we need is one feature that is included in none of the other DVD authoring programs (multiple language tracks).

I'm just curious...is this package actually used for mainstream TV/movie productions? I mean, it's a monster, and expensive, but I always had the impression that movies and TV are done on SGI and other even higher-end systems.

fat elvis
07-12-2005, 05:29 PM
I know that many studios use it for "visualization renders" and work that doesn't necessarily require an Avid workstation. The company I'm currently with uses it only for in-house promo videos. The guy that uses it has a 30" and 20" connected to his G5...it's like freakin space command.

blubbernaut
07-13-2005, 04:11 AM
"Cold Mountain" was edited on Final Cut Pro! I know some Wrestling TV show uses it also. I know people who do high-end corporate videos and commercials with it also.

It is a monster, but compared to equivalent systems its way cheap.

lights_sound
07-13-2005, 08:20 AM
I use it to do TV ads and also use it for DVD production etc. I find it does everything the clients have every asked for and more. and it is easy enough to use. and the complete package keeps me happy. alot cheaper than buying custom software for each application.

fat elvis
07-13-2005, 10:57 AM
It is a monster, but compared to equivalent systems its way cheap.


Holy Crap! (http://www.promax.com/Systems/)

schneb
07-15-2005, 01:52 PM
There is only so much you can do in iMovie before you bump your head on the ceiling. Many of my titles are transfers of movies I did in Super8 or 16mm. I thus need alot of filter work to repair color, levels, blacks, and the layering of multiple sound tracks. When it comes to color and brightness/contrast correction, iMovie is sadly lacking. However, from straight camera, edit and mix to DVD, it is fantastic, so don't get me wrong there.

blubbernaut
07-15-2005, 08:54 PM
Holy Crap! (http://www.promax.com/Systems/)
Yeah, and those are cheap! Before Avid Express, when it was just plain Avid, and before Pentium 4s and G4/G5s, multiply that by ten!

guardian34
07-15-2005, 09:36 PM
IIRC, one of those medical prime time shows uses it.

frankko
07-15-2005, 10:28 PM
IIRC, one of those medical prime time shows uses it.

Scrubs (http://www.apple.com/pro/video/scrubs/).

As someone mentioned earlier, Walter Murch cut Cold Mountain using FCP 3, which got him an Oscar nomination. He's currently editing Sam Mendes' Jarhead using FCP HD (aka 4.5). See Behind the Seen: How Walter Murch Edited Cold Mountain Using Apple's Final Cut Pro and What This Means for Cinema (http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/ASIN/0735714266/).

FireWired
07-26-2005, 11:45 PM
I read in my MacAddict that Lord of the Rings was composited with Shake. :)

Hammer
07-28-2005, 02:02 AM
I work in the film industry. Many editor's & edit houses I've been to use FCP. And still some houses I've seen run both FCP & Avid. As a matter of fact, the majority of production companies, writer's & other's I've met along the way are both ( and or) business & home Mac User's.