PDA

View Full Version : Excel: Unable to read file

besttb
05-24-2005, 12:36 PM
OSX 10.3.8
G4 15"
Excel For MAC

I have been using a spreadsheet file for a couple years that is 980KB that will no longer open. I tried updating to 10.3.9 which did not alleviate the issue.

I tried to open on a PC and the error directed me to Microsofts web site KB article Q213879. It says its an Unexpected file Lock. Is there a way for me to get into this file and unlock it? Perhaps through vi or something? Anyone else have this problem?

This is the only file that has ever been corrupted on my system - it there something wrong with my system? A defrag maybe? I looked at apple's site and they did not advise defrags.

Thanks for your help!

T

Raven
05-24-2005, 01:02 PM
Do you most of the time simply use the command+s option to save ? or just that ? What happens in those cases is that only the changes to the file get saved... and thats not the most reliable thing... Best ist o do a "Save As" every 4-5 time you need to save, and always end a session with the Save As
Thats for the explanation on the possible reason why this happened... Now to help find a solution, it would be best if you posted the exact error message you are getting, both on the Mac and on the PC (error number too !)

besttb
05-24-2005, 01:22 PM
The error message is an Excel error and reads:

Unable to read file.

<button>'OK' </button> <button>'Web Info'</button>

The web info button takes me to this link:
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/q213879/

I will have to send the MAC error later but it is the same thing without the web info button. Once I press ok, the file does not open and excel opens without a problem.

The MS article is where it looks like the file has been locked somehow...

thanks for your help!

hayne
05-24-2005, 01:25 PM
When was the last time you could open this file?
Do you have a backup copy? It's quite possible that the problem is merely that the file has become corrupted somehow.

besttb