PDA

View Full Version : Have desktop, need laptop - what to buy?

eajones516
05-06-2005, 11:03 AM
I am new to this whole forum-ing thing, but you all had such good comments for the dude trying to pick between an iBook and a PowerBook for school, I thought I'd ask my slight variation on his question:

I have an iMac G4 800 Mhz 15" flat panel that I bought in early 2004 (just before they switched the iMac to AirPort Extreme capability and phased out the AirPort card, damn them!), and I love it. However, soon I'm starting graduate school in Information Science, and I just know I'm going to want a laptop. I had a PC laptop in college, and though I loathe the thing, its laptoppiness was indispensable to me (when it still worked).

So, here's my question: given my circumstances, should I be looking at iBooks or PowerBooks? I'm pretty sure I want a SuperDrive (my program includes a fair amount of opportunity for doing digital media stuff, which I intend to take advantage of), so it'd either be a 14" iBook or a 12" or 15" PowerBook. Obviously, the ideal would be the 15" PowerBook, but I am also a poor graduate student, who looks at the $2300 price tag (with Apple Care) and starts choking to death. And I'm sort of worried I'd feel cramped on the 12" screen, especially with the media stuff. But then, I gather you can hook the PowerBooks up to a bigger monitor, even if you get the little one? The iBook looks like it might be just the thing, but I have heard iffy things about their displays, and some of the nifty toys on the PowerBook admittedly appeal to me...though, enough to sacrifice 2" or $800? I don't know.

And then, of course, there's the fact that I already have a perfectly wonderfully functional desktop computer -- so maybe I don't need all the muscle of a PowerBook?

I would so appreciate any thoughts you folks might have. Thanks!

mclbruce
05-06-2005, 02:47 PM
Some quick thoughts: