PDA

View Full Version : Bwana

NovaScotian
03-31-2005, 09:54 AM
Bwana (http://www.bruji.com/bwana/index.html) is a great little piece of software for viewing man pages in a browser, and the browser does not have to be Safari; both Firefox and Camino are among its choices. You invoke it by typing man:themanpagename as the browser address.

Unfortunately, I've managed to break it's connection to Camino so I can only use it from Safari. The break occurred on the first try too. When you run this from Camino, you get a sheet informing you that you are about to invoke an outside application for the first time. I clicked ok. It's never worked since.

Anyone familiar with this tangle?

mark hunte
03-31-2005, 11:16 AM
Very odd,
I have never used camino before.

but just tested it with Bwana.

It runs ok from the bwana app it self.

But not from terminal ??

Safari works in app and in terminal. Ok both on first try.

Firefox works in the app
and in terminal. But if the browser is not running when you do your first
call, it will not open in a man page. One the second call it does and so on..

Camino
it runs from the app ok.
in terminal
If the browser is not running then, it will open a page in camino, but not
a man page.
if you try again in terminal it while that page is open it does nothing

NovaScotian
03-31-2005, 11:52 AM
Camino
it runs from the app ok.
in terminal
If the browser is not running then, it will open a page in camino, but not
a man page.
if you try again in terminal it while that page is open it does nothing

Ditto Firefox and Safari. Both work properly if I select them in Bwana and enter the man request in the Bwana panel or with Bwana not running when I enter the man request as a browser URL. Firefox asks if it can use the requested application and then presses on when you agree.